Hot Child In the City in Life

  • June 4, 2016, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…I’m not running wild, nor looking pretty, though.

So, today in Portland it was supposed to be a ghastly 102. At last glance at my weather app, that has moved down to 97 for the high - and tomorrow it’s still saying 100, but we’ll see.

I got asked to go out to brunch with a friend (actually, for “snacks”), who said, “I could call you, but I know you - I’ll ask you how you are and you’ll launch into 50 stories, instead of telling me how you are. Face time is necessary.” So true.

I got about 5 hours of sleep, and with it being super hot I wasn’t so sure how I’d do, but I can honestly say I’m still used to the heat - and that’s good. It seems Oregon is going to be a scorcher, again, this year. I hear it’s like that everywhere, though.

So, my lovely friend met me for “snacks” (which, for me, was a waffle, bacon, sausage and eggs, a margarita, coffee and water…ya, why not?), and then took me to Peninsula Park Rose Garden. How absolutely lovely that was to see. There were, at least, three weddings going on at that time, but it was very nice. I wish the roses would stick around a bit longer, but I know with the heat they’ll be gone soon. But, this is yet another spot to add to my collection of lovely places to see. There is SO MUCH to see in Portland…I could be a tourist in my own City for the next five years, easily.

After that sweet little escape, in the heat, which really didn’t bother me as much as FL heat (no humidity to speak of) I called another good friend of whom I haven’t talked to in awhile. She regaled me with her love of their new bathroom light fixture, their trials in painting and removing scratched up sections of the window pane, and was fraught with indecision of whether or not they should replace their pedestal sink with a regular, short sink, so that they can reach the pea trap easier in the future. Eighteen years of marriage and home ownership added in makes for quite the thrilling conversation!

Ahhhhhh…I got to Fred Meyers and got out my list, walked the length of the parking lot to be in the shade, and took my leisurely time. Strolling through the store was nice. It was packed, but for some reason the people didn’t seem to be bothering me quite as much today.

I picked up some things I needed, some other things I needed in the wrong size (for the feet to my new chairs…oops, measure measure measure!), and some things I really didn’t need, but truthfully cheese just seems mandatory these days to be in my cart, along with olives and bread. I did manage to purchase good for me things, and tried this Kale/Sprout salad from the deli, which had Brussel sprouts in it. I tried them, and ((shockingly)) I LIKE THEM raw! I don’t think I’d eat them cooked…I really don’t like veg that much when it’s cooked up…but, man, these are pretty decent! YAY!

The things that amaze me. I’m in my damn 4th decade and just figured out I don’t mind eating brussel sprouts. Wow. Well, at least my life stays interesting!

Brought groceries home, including a HUGE pizza. The pizza’s they have (Kroger brand) are gigantic, but for $8, I can’t really argue the size. I’ll eat what I can, and maybe I can find a friend who wants to stop in for some, or I’ll just eat leftovers for a day or two. If it’s this hot tomorrow, I don’t want to go out - and, my kitties miss me. They’re still confused.

This morning, two of Hüsker Dü’s toys were in the bedroom (including a three tier circular ball toy thing) - she needs me to play with her, so that’s what I’ve been doing, while eating the healthy salad and typing. All I need is a cup of hot tea and I’d be in full on lesbian mode (oh, and I’m topless…).

I’m probably going to start a new Book on here with the pieces I wrote last year when I first came out here in April…on my 3 week sabbatical (before the Ex came out for a month). This will be good, to have all of it in one spot. If you like my writing, I encourage you to read them - they deal with a lot of my past history and are very reflective.

I think I’ll get off here and go think some more. I’ve been talking / texting with the Ex. It’s nice hearing the kitties are doing well. It is still surreal, and I’m still hurt / angry, but not as badly as I could be - I mean, this is life - you have to live your life the way you need to, as no one else will do it for you. I have no control over her decisions, as she has no control over mine. That is one of the most empowering things to realize about yourself - is that you only control what you do, and that is all that really matters in the end.

Be good, folks.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.