It is Wednesday-1 June in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 1, 2016, 6:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today would have been our 41st wedding anniversary. We had a traditional wedding in our little country church. As most brides, I had no idea what laid ahead but what laid ahead made me who I am today. Good and bad.

Finally got a trellis finished/built for my cucumber planter that is in the BBQ grill in a clay pot. It will “climb” down instead of up but still need to find it a place that it will stay until after harvest. *sigh I’m running out of space down here. Well space that I am will to use for cucumbers growing. I’ve grown very fond of cardboard which keeps growth out that you don’t want, however, it kills whatever is under it, so that is my dilemma, and it needs sun. I will probably end up putting them on the side of the house. I have other stuff to move to put it there, but so be it. Think I just decided.

Bought something to put of the water hoses on when not in use. Had a wind up storage thing, that I gave to daughter. It kinked the hose too badly when you were trying to roll it up. I will plan to make another holder for another hose.

Bought the things I need to make the insect repellent. Will make a batch today and see if it works as well as they say. Must admit that some of the “natural” sounds great, but works very little.

Bought and started taking the Turmeric for my arthritis and joint pain. Wish it would hurry and help.

I cleaned both filters on the aquarium Sunday afternoon. YUCK! It had been too long but they are both cleaned and working fine now.

Started on the gas grill cleaning job yesterday. The two right burners wouldn’t light when I used it on Monday afternoon, and still wouldn’t after I got all the gunk cleaned out. Not going to mess with the connections or the gas line that feeds the two far burners. I’m terrified of propane explosions so will just use the two that will work. Still need to give the outside of it a bath and clean the grills and the burner covers. It took a while to scrape the inside and get the crude through the bottom holes. I put an empty bag underneath the holes to catch the crude. Didn’t want it in the yard or the concrete. It it sitting with the lid up and gutted right now. I was expecting it to rain overnight, but it didn’t. Ah well, hot soapy water and rubber gloves are in my immediate future.

Not a lot planned right now for the day. Will do some laundry and dishes. Fill or change out the hummer feeders. Bought more sugar yesterday. Did you know that hummingbirds are the only birds that can fly backward? Learned that on 500 question show last night.

Going to get my butt in gear and start laundry, take a shower, and go from there. Showers are in the forecast again. That is ok. The Amazon bookclub is calling my name. I have Kindle for Android. Any thoughts on the Amazon book club membership? Does it get more expensive after the introductory time?

Have a great day today. Take care and God Bless


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 01, 2016

tumeric is pretty good for the aches and pains and arthritis. i take it in capsules and i've been waking up with less and less stiffness and i'm able to get the remaining kinks out much sooner in the morning. i also cook with tumeric but, i have to add a bit of black pepper so that it works. i'm ready for my cucumbers to start growing and producing. i will be planting seeds today and filling more buckets for planting and watering and spending most of my day outside in the yard. i have a kindle and get free books from about 12 to 15 sites that send me emails daily with free and bargain kindle/amazon books to download. i also get free and bargain books for my nook. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 01, 2016

Did you have to pay a membership free to get the free ones from kindle/amazon? I think it is 9.00 a month? I looked yesterday at Walmart book section, and oh my even paper books have gone up considerably since I bought any.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm middle age pearl ⋅ June 02, 2016

before i got my kindle fire, i set up a kindle account on my laptop where i got free books from amazon. these are the sites i got free amazon kindle books from daily. no fee. some are free, others are bargain priced.
ookhearts.com
ereradernewstoday.com
bookraid.com
bookbarbarian.com
ohfb.com
ebookdaily.com
choosybookworm.com
ebookitch.com
sweetfreebooks.com
dbspublishing.com
openroadmedia.com
bookgorilla.com
freebooksy.com
readingdeals.com
rifflebooks.com
manybooks.net
ebooksoda.com
faithfulreads.com

enjoy!!
take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 02, 2016

Oh my goodness!! You Rock and thank you so very much!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm middle age pearl ⋅ June 02, 2016

somehow, the 'b' in the first one got lost. it should be bookhearts.com. sorry about that. take care,

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm middle age pearl ⋅ June 02, 2016

just sign up and you will get an email every day from each one that you sign up for with free or discount books. like one of your other noters said you need to have an account with amazon. some of the emails will have nook books as well. i 'think' you can set up something to get a nook app, like the kindle app. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 02, 2016

I already have an Amazon account so I'll be browsing through them and pick a few. Thanks again.

crystal butterfly Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 02, 2016

I uses Bookbubs. I need Silent Echo's list of sites.

cardslinger June 01, 2016

Do you use the cardboard like landscape fabric? I need to do something out front. I can't keep up with the weeds and last year with my bad back I never even got it fully weeded once!
We are just about to celebrate 30 years in 3 weeks. Can't believe that much time has gone by.

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ June 01, 2016

Yes. This is the first year I've had a lot of cardboard available but the place I used it last year make me a believer!

cardslinger middle age pearl ⋅ June 01, 2016

If you can get your hands on it; it's much cheaper than the fabric! I just wish I had kept some of the boxes from moving my daughter!

crystal butterfly June 02, 2016

I use a good source of turmeric. And have read that you need black pepper with it to make it more effective. I have also discovered if you use the powder in your tea or to cook with it stains your teeth and anything it might come in contact with. Don't spill any on you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.