A rainy Friday and prob weekend in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 27, 2016, 2:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It rained overnight and was still raining when I got up and went outside at 4:45 AM. Body wasn’t pleased with the physical activity I did yesterday but I was pleased with getting a few things done. O stayed with me yesterday and it was rainy and wet for the better part of the morning. I did some things inside and then the sky cleared a bit so was ready to get outside. O, not so much, but he did anyway. We started on the frame and trellis again but the drill chuck was too tight for me to change it to a drill bit. My nephew who was assisting O with it on Sunday afternoon got it so tight that no matter what I tried it would not release. *Sigh That is not good. At. All. O has his own ideas on how to do things, which are very seldom an idea that I think or know will work. A bit tense for us for awhile, but finally he started listening to me and things went a little better. It was obvious after the first two screw were drilled into the two pieces that pilot holes would be required. We stopped so I could fix him some lunch and eat and I kept working on the release of the chuck on the drill to no avail. I got out my electric drill but couldn’t find the chuck that you have to use for it. Good grief it is hard to get any work done when things aren’t panning out the way they should. Around 2 in the afternoon, I had him start cutting cardboard to use with the zucchini planter trellis when we get it finished which he did. I sed the small pieces in the corn plot to cover some gaps and also the pole green beans I planted there do not seem to be coming up yet. That is very disappointing as there is no reason why they shouldn’t that I can think of since they are recently purchased seeds. Ah well. I give them a few more days, but if they haven’t appeared out of the ground next to the corn by Tues or Wed I will start over. Blah!

O and I opened a new bag of potting soil to start the mixing and I’ve decided that cheap is NOT the way to go. It has been kept in the dry and not gotten wet since I’ve had it and it comes out of the bag in big chunks. Yuck. You have to work it and break it up by hand to get it to even mix in with anything else. Anyway, we worked on the chunk of potting soil and finally got it to where I could add the other amendments and told him we’d pull the wagon with the tub to the field and get some cow manure this time to add to it. Off we went with a couple of shovels, gloves, and a med spade to the area where the cows are fed grain and salt mix. I told O what to look for and to shovel it up and put in the tub. He said to me “Mawmaw, I can’t believe I’m looking for and getting cow poop”. LOL I’ve laughed about that off and on ever since. Guess he is right, as most kids don’t hunt cow poop during their summer break from school. Hopefully we have the right amount of everything cause if there is too much cow manure, it will burn up the plants. Now that would suck, but only one tomato plant, the zucchini and maybe some flowers will have this concoction, however I may add another bag of the cheap potting soil to the tub and add more of the amendments except more manure. Time will tell as it always does.

Since my drill is useless I think I may buy a new one. Plan to get one that uses the same size battery as the other one, and am hoping that eventually it can get workable. It will be nice to have one ready with a drill bit and another ready to screw in the screw. Besides if my grands are going to learn I could use another one.

Every other Thursday is J’s payday and yesterday was it for him. He didn’t mention or show me his check when he got home, but A was here picking up O, when the bus dropped J off from work so didn’t think too much about it. This morning when I started to go out to check to see if it had rained or was raining, his check was stuck in the glass door. I figured his sub bus driver had found it and brought to the house and I’d probably already gone to bed so they stuck it in the door. When J got up I asked him where his paycheck was, and he said with a sad voice, “I don’t know”. I told him I had a surprise for him and to come to the kitchen and he was so relieved and happy to see his check. We called the sub bus driver and sure enough, she had found it when she was cleaning the bus and brought back down here last night about 9:30. I was already in bed even though my TV was on, but I thanked her and then J got on the phone to thank her. THAT is a very considerate and thoughtful person to make a trip down here to make sure J had his paycheck. I told her she shouldn’t have done it and just gave it to him on Tuesday, but she said, no way would she not have brought it to him. God Bless her!!

I am going to get ready to go now to cash his check for him and do some browsing for a drill. Have a safe Memorial Day weekend. Not sure what will develop for down here, but I am pretty sure something will develop.

Take care and God Bless


aunty EM May 27, 2016

He must have been devastated to lose his check. Poor guy. Thank goodness for honest and caring people.

GypsyWynd May 27, 2016

God bless that bus driver. I like Dark Madonna's suggestion. The driver deserves some brownje points.

FormerlyMe May 27, 2016

Very sweet driver

Roseoftexas May 27, 2016

That was so nice of the bus driver...I'd send a card as well...♥

middle age pearl Roseoftexas ⋅ May 28, 2016

No personal information can be given out, but J is going to give her a card next time she drives. She is a sub driver.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 27, 2016

what a wonderful bus driver!! i have some seeds that aren't doing what they're supposed to. will wait til monday and if no seedlings, i'll replant. take care,

crystal butterfly May 30, 2016

Wonderful bus driver. My sister-in-law and brother were talking about her making manure soup. Plans to put it on her garden.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.