Dad Day plus a black snake in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 25, 2016, 8:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No pictures of the snake so you can read in peace. Dad was needing/wanting to go buy flowers for the cemeteries and get a few things, so today was the day. It looked like it was going to rain any minutes and the temperature was warm and humid. It didn’t rain and by the time we finished at Walmart the sun was brightly shining and it was getting very very warm. Still humid but the sun was shining. I bought some more fresh and frozen fruit for smoothies. My little Bullet sounds like it’s going to blow up or apart when I use it for frozen stuff but so far it hasn’t and they are really good. I’ve used strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, bananas, kiwi and something else that I don’t remember. Anyway, it is working out pretty good. Maybe I’ll upgrade in the future, but will use the yard sale find until it quits me.

Jumping to later in the afternoon I had been outside and was thinking about where to plant the zucchini (still thinking) but came inside as it was hot and muggy. It was getting closer to the time for J to get home, so I went back out to listen and watch for the bus. I reached for my cigs and OH MY GOSH!! The biggest black snake was laying all the way across the window sill under my bedroom window. I was so shocked I didn’t know what to do and where it was laying, it couldn’t be killed. For some stuid reason I called Dude after watching it for a few minutes. I decided to kinda push at his tail to see if I could prompt him to skeedattle. He skeedattled back toward me and I just about died right there. He only looked to see what was back there so I didn’t touch him with anything else. Finally he moved more toward where his tail was and ever so slowly he finally decided to get off the sill. I took 2 videos of him and have them posted on You Tube, but wanted to see if there was any interest in seeing this big guy before I upload any pictures to Shutterfly and post the link in the next entry. If you’re interested, just leave a comment saying so. Otherwise, I’ll be watching very carefully, although he isn’t poison, he could still bite or scare the beejeesus out of most anyone. They eat rats, mice, and other snakes, so I’d rather leave him alive, but if he becomes a “lounger” on my front porch or window sill again, he will have to die. I don’t want to, but will if I have to.

It’s almost my bed time so will end this entry for now. Take care and God Bless


Last updated May 25, 2016


GypsyWynd May 25, 2016

Just reading about the snake freaked me out. I've been told there are snakes in FL, so far, I haven't seen any. I hope I never do. It might just be enough to send me back up north!

crystal butterfly May 26, 2016

They were talking at Bible study yesterday that the black snakes and the rattlesnakes are starting to crossbreed so a blacksnake could start becoming poisonous. snake pictures do not bother me.

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ May 26, 2016

I've never heard or seen rattlesnakes in our parts. Not saying there aren't timber rattlers, but we're never encountered any. I believe the crossbreeding talk is a myth.

aunty EM May 26, 2016

Eeeeeeewhoo..... Can't stand snakes....

seafarer May 29, 2016

I would have died right there on your porch if I had been there!! I just cannot stand those things!!!!! Poison or not, ughhh!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.