Gerty (2) in gerty

  • May 25, 2016, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Yes Doctor Castro I am listening.”

Gerty sat curled up in the leather chair across the desk from Dr. Castro looking bored and disinterested. The mahogany bookcases and prominently displayed leather bound books spoke of the finest in psychiatric care that the monied of the world could buy,

“Gerty my dear I know you have been here for a very long time but these sessions are to help get on your way to a happy life.”

Gerty snorted a laugh of displeasure and said.

“I come to the sessions, I talk, I listen, I take my meds, do the tests, complete my school work, get along with the girls and kiss your ass each and every day. Two years later you’re still saying the same thing.”

Dr Castro knew every word as true and but still felt something was not right with the petite teen. Gerty had hacked up her father after pushing him down a flight of stairs. Gerty was the victim in all of this and Castro felt heartache in keeping her in the secure facility. Gerty deserved to be free but Castro was unsure how effective his treatment had been. Gerty was intelligent and very manipulative and had everyone endeared to her sunny smile and childlike persona.

Ultimately Gerty’s dad was dead so maybe there was solace if the belief there was no one left at risk. Gerty had her revenge and it was time to have faith she was the sweet child the staff adored.

She was also a young woman who had suffered years at the hands of a father. She was treated in ways no daughter should ever have to remember. Memories and emotional scars such as Gerty’s may never heal and Dr. Castro still heard the voice in the back of his mind saying there was risk in letting Gerty out the door.

Gerty slipped off the leather cushion and walked over to the office window and viewed the beautifully manicured grounds of carefully cut grass and finely trimmed hedges. The stone fence with ornate cast iron gates defined where her world began and ended. Other “guests” were strolling on the paths and a few were sitting in the grass. Although the grounds looked much like a beautiful park the well-dressed assistants were hovering about keeping the guests safe and under a discreet yet watchful eye.

“I deserve my chance doctor. When is enough enough?”.

“When indeed Gerty. When indeed.”


Gilraent May 25, 2016

Having just gotten out of the psych unit (not for killing anyone) I can visualize this pretty spot on.

invisible ink Gilraent ⋅ May 25, 2016

well hopefully you can enjoy the read without too many haunting memories... we move out of there fairly quickly... this is not "Girl Interrupted" by any stretch....

Gilraent invisible ink ⋅ May 25, 2016

I love Girl Interrupted :) I can relate to that one so very much. Besides, Angelina Jolie is still hot even if she is playing a sociopath.
No bad memories of being on the unit, it's the memories of what happened the days leading to it that sting.
I really do enjoy your writing :)

invisible ink Gilraent ⋅ May 25, 2016

Well thanks.... I enjoyed the movie as well....

middle age pearl May 25, 2016

WhatDreamsMayCome May 31, 2016

I'm glad you're posting these.

invisible ink WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ May 31, 2016

It's a bit schizophrenic in a writing style as I am rereading a doing teeny edits of these new ones.. writing chapter 24 and that is leading into where I first stated writing the original storyline.... that's why there is chapter 23 in the book of lies.

invisible ink WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ May 31, 2016

and I am glad someone is actually reading it....

colojojo June 01, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.