Gerty (23) in Book of Lies.....

  • May 24, 2016, 3:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The world became suddenly silent for Daryl. No more grasshoppers sawing their tunes and no birdsong in the sky. The seemingly innocuous girl stepped close and pressed her body against his chest. The shimmer of the blade shown bright but the girl still held it out to her side.

bouncy bouncy bouncy ball,
Shining Knight in armor’s come to call,
Tall, dark and handsome for damsel small
bouncy bouncy bouncy ball

Daryl barely heard the rhyme as he kept trying to back away without turning his back on the ever more bizarre girl.

“So daddio have you stopped by to Fuck the poor little girl? Looking for some fun..... sailor?”

Daryl did not know what to say. He did sense whatever he did say may be life and death.

“I’m sorry miss I did not wish to give you the wrong impression here I just thought you might be hurt laying here in the middle of no where. Offer up a ride if you needed one. Mama always told me you leave no one behind and hands are worth offering and not much else.”

Gerty had been just staring straight into Daryl chest when she talked but looked up after Daryl stopped talking.

“Your Mama you say? What’s yer name handsome?”

Daryl let out his breath and felt the pounding sound of his heart pulsing in his ears subside a bit.

“I’m Daryl miss, just stopped to see if you needed a leg up.”

Gerty ignored the remark and replied,

“You love your Mama Daryl? “

“Yes maam I do. No one best talk sour words of my Mama or there will be hell to pay.”

Gerty looked off to a dark place in her mind and mumbled.

Hell to pay indeed..

The last of her words fell off to nowhere and she continued to stare off to the distance. Daryl remained patient not wanting to change the mood of the conversation. Eventually Gerty turned back to Daryl and her eyes seemed to focus on the man before her. The arm bearing the knife seemed to drop lower and the tension seemed to evaporate away.

Gerty finally spoke again,

So Daryl, where might you be going in this pretty black truck?

Daryl thought he actually may get out of this without having the indignity of fighting off this harmless looking waif of a girl.

Well, I was heading to met up with friends for some beers but I’m happy as pie to get you where you need to be if you be so kind to offer me the pleasure.

Gerty morphed immediately out of her daddio and squeaked out a giggle and replied,

I’m Gerty, and it is very nice to met you Sir Daryl. I would be delighted to be in your company.

Gerty gushed like a smitten high school girl and grabbed Daryl by the arm and once again pressed herself against his chest. Daryl felt discomfort in the moment. The once accusing girl now seemed evocative in her actions. Daryl wanted no second act with the knife that seemed to mysteriously disappear as it appeared.

Gerty hopped up on the steel running bar and squeeled… “Shotgun!”


Last updated May 31, 2016


AmINatalie May 24, 2016

random commenter

I liked this! Are there more writings about Gerty? going back to look

invisible ink AmINatalie ⋅ May 24, 2016

sadly I think there is only 4 max in here. I wrote a lot starting with open diary and probably have fifty of these short chapters... most on hard copy. I do believe I have a lot more on a different writing site that I haven't copied over to here. I actually am writing up to a point where I started the story, If you like I can copy off a few first chapters to get you a taste of it....

middle age pearl invisible ink ⋅ May 24, 2016

AmINatalie, if the author offers, take it. invisible ink's Gerty is awesome and will make you read and read to see what Gerty does next.
Gerty needs to be published!!

AmINatalie middle age pearl ⋅ June 02, 2016

I will definitely have to do that!

middle age pearl May 24, 2016

Excellent as usual!

Mr. Mofo May 25, 2016

The character of Gerty makes me nervous

WhatDreamsMayCome May 25, 2016

I'd like to read more of Gerty too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.