Way Tired in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 23, 2016, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday afternoon O and I worked on building a frame for the zucchini plants and painted the stakes I have to make a trellis. We used the drill and the circular saw. Not finished. One of the paints took until this morning to completely dry. Frame completed but not the trellis but I changed my idea so hopefully it will work better.

Today at 9 A, O, and me started burning the brush pile by her carport. The brush pile is between my house and her carport. It started very slowly since the rain last week and the sun hadn’t really had time to dry up the leaves so it burned slow. I stayed with it until about 1:30 and the winds were getting too strong for me to feel safe, and besides I was getting tired of watching the pile.

Killed a young copperhead which I believe had been in the brush pile. It was in my side yard but a hoe and shovel took care of it.

I had signed up for free books on the Kindle App on my new phone and finished one of them this afternoon. I had forgotten how much I enjoy reading. It was a sci fi type and the name of it is… “Under Different Stars”–*Kricket Hollowell never wished upon stars. She was too busy hiding in plain sight, eluding Chicago’s foster care system. As her eighteenth birthday approaches, she now eagerly anticipates the day she’ll stop running and finally find her place in the world.

That day comes when she meets a young Etharian soldier named Trey Allairis, who has been charged with coming to Earth to find Kricket and transport her to her true home. As danger draws close, he must protect her until she can wield the powers she cannot use on Earth…and he soon realizes that counting a galaxy of stars would be easier than losing this extraordinary girl.

Kyon knows the powerful depths of Kricket’s gifts—gifts he’ll control when he takes her for his tribe and leads the forces that will claim Ethar and destroy his enemies, starting with Trey Allairis. Now, Kricket faces the most difficult choice of her life: whether to wage a battle for survival or a fight for love.

Winner of four 2014 utopYA Awards, including Best Book of the Year and Best Sci-Fi Book of the Year.*

This is #1 in a series of 3. Go figure. I will see if I can find the 2d in the series for less than on Amazon, but I think it has me hooked. I need to know what happens next. The book I finished today was made into a movie in 2014.

I can see much less time with the TV on and more time reading now that that fire has finally been lit.

Mickey stayed here for a couple of hours while her parents and siblings worked on the cemetery grounds mowing, weedeating, and cleaning the grass and dirt from all the headstones. Her dad told her that her brother and sister would get more money for today’s work, but Mickey didn’t care. Yet. Mickey isn’t one for working enough to exert energy for long, and especially when it involves sweating. lol

They just returned from a short trip to TX over the weekend to see Dudette’s BIL graduate from another Military School. The completion of this saga, will get them transferred to NY where he will teach other Soldiers.

Ok. One more thing. Yesterday afternoon coming home we spotted two young foxes that have a den under the back deck of an old cabin at the river. One ran under the deck and the lattice, but the other one was very curious and watched us watch him/her. Apparently he was itching cause he would look at us and then scratch very seriously. Might post a couple of the pictures I took with my phone but not tonight.

Take care and God Bless

Would love to go to bed right now, but must wait until 9.


Last updated May 23, 2016


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 24, 2016

i have a garden snake in my yard that i see a number of times over the summer but, never have i seen a dangerous snake. i'd kill it, too. if there's something in the yard that can hurt the dogs or the people i love, you better believe i'd kill it. i have to split my time between reading, watching tv, cleaning the house, working in the garden, coloring. i'm beginning to wish my days were longer or something cause i don't have enough time. take care,

cardslinger May 24, 2016

I love reading and usually read a lot during the Summer when at the cottage but now that I've got my fitbit, I feel like I should be up and moving more often so I wonder how much I'll read this year.
Yikes, a copperhead!

crystal butterfly May 24, 2016

Enjoy seeing the fox. Don't seem to have as many as we did. But maybe with the way the cedar trees around here have grown up we just don't get to see them as much.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.