Get two cats they said in Life

  • May 22, 2016, 8:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’ll be fun, they said. It’ll be easier they said. Well....they LIED!!! lol Well, I guess not completely, it is fun. But it’s most definitely not easy. For the past few days I’ve noticed that when my alarm goes off, Luna starts scratching under the bed, like really close to my head scratching, not on the floor, not on the bed legs, but under the mattress itself. That worried me, but I ignored it. Then today, while stretched out in my recliner reading, I see her go under the mattress and jump UP. There should be no up to jump to under there. Long story short, she/they have pulled the fabric off the top half of the box springs, and removed a big amount of the fluff from inside the box spring. I didn’t even know there was fluff in there. So I gathered hammer, staple gun, and vacuum cleaner, and prepared to repair the damage. I slide the mattress off without too much trouble, well, unless you count Stella and Luna refusing to get off. Luna finally fell off onto the dresser, but Stella held on until I got it on its side and she climbed up to the side to survey it all. There wasn’t enough room for the box spring to stand up, so I had to hold it while I worked. Silly me thought the sound of the hammer and the staple gun would keep them away. Ha how funny!! They were all over the box spring while I was working.
Here’s the guilty party checking out the fluff:
 photo image_14.jpeg
So I fixed the board and stapled the fabric back into place, while holding the box spring up with one arm. Then came the task of putting it back into the frame. Which wasn’t the easiest task while the cats played on it.
 photo image_17.jpeg
I get it back into place, and then it’s time to move the mattress. I go to flop it back down and neither of them move. Crazy cats. The whole time I’m moving it back across the bed, they’re just having a ball.
 photo image_18.jpeg
It took a while, but the bed is back together, now. Since starting this entry, they both got behind the curtain at the back door, got into a fight, turned over the floor lamp, and knocked over my drink, which sent me into a panic of looking for it (iPad and phone are charging by the chair, along with laptop charger. I can just picture the Diet Dr Pepper fritzing it all out. I drag the chair all over looking for the bottle, but I can’t find it. Then I realize it landed in the trash can. Lord love a furry duck - I may not survive these two! Hahahaha


terriberri May 22, 2016

lol....it's like you have terrible twos toddlers! did you block the bottom of the mattress somehow? they will do it again....we had cats do the same thing, lol.

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ May 22, 2016

I have two main things under my bed, a rolling tote with my electric blanket and a few extra throws, and a bag of pillows. I move the tote so that it goes across the top, where the damage was done. I'm hoping that prevents it. Nothing was torn, so I'm thinking there was a gap in the fabric, and Luna figured out how to get her furry butt in there and that pulled the fabric down. They are definitely in the terrible two phase lol!

Small Town Girl May 22, 2016

O man! Our old cat found a tiny hole in the mesh covering on the bottom of my parents bed some years ago, he worked it large enough to fit is body thru. There was nothing for him to rip apart, but that is where he slept and hid when he didn't want to be found! haha. Reminds me trying to make the bed, and the darn cat would come lie right in the middle of the bed. I used to trap him under the fitted she and go tickle him. Man he hated that, but he would always jump up there as I was trying to make the bed!! Funny creatures they are!

Jigger May 23, 2016

Yeeeeah...I feel for you, I do, but all the same, you're still on the list to take charge of George if anything permanent happens to me and MFK either goes with me, or is unable to look after her himself. Sorry, non-negotiable, last wishes must be honored. Also, my box spring has been de-fabricked and cat-inhabited for a loooong time. Surrender to it. It's an awesome fort.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ May 23, 2016

Hahahahaha aweeee yay Georgie...ummm I mean of course nothing will happen to y'all. :)
I've made it a day without them getting back in there, but I'm starting to wonder what the bottom of the couch looks like. If they weren't so dang cute and cuddly you could get upset at them, but they just reel you in.

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ May 23, 2016

Eh, guests can't see it, and who doesn't love an awesome secret base?

Deleted user May 23, 2016

There is a spray repellent you can get at Pet Smart to keep them away from things like box springs :-) They will settle down. It just takes a couple of years :-)

mcbee Deleted user ⋅ May 23, 2016

But you have to laugh don't you!

dream seeker mcbee ⋅ May 23, 2016

Oh most definitely! Goober cats. They're lucky I love them. lol

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ May 24, 2016

:-)

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ May 23, 2016

As Terri pointed out, they're like toddlers now. Maybe in 5 or 6 years. lol hahahahahaha

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ May 24, 2016

Yup!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.