Sunday Morning and more pic link in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 22, 2016, 10:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The link thing may work out better for those that do not have any interest in my photo ops. In the past when I would post them directly into my entry I would feel a bit guilty of assuming everyone would be delighted in seeing the world through my lens. Sometimes yes but I’m sure sometimes there were thoughts, of, again?

The picture of Polka Dot was at the request of Silent Echo, and I’m happy to post them. She had notice him in a picture from the last set of pics I’d linked to, so there will be a link at the end of this entry showing some recent shots of Polka Dot, the Master Guard Dog of this area. He not only guards me, but also A and Owen too. He’s very wary of most any one who even drives down our road and lets most, but not all know, that they are not welcome here. Sometimes he is right, and sometimes I have to put him on a chain on the front porch for my peace of mind and “just in case”. I must say that the older he gets the more attention he pays with commands I give him. He is the only pet down here now and at times I believe he gets lonely. I have entertained the idea of getting him a pet of his own, but one pet stays out of trouble better than two. That became apparent when the boarder collie disappeared so I’m leaving things alone. IF another stray appears and Polka Dot allows them to hang around, then that will be the answer. If not, then so be it.

Ok, going to post the link here instead of at the end so those of you who have no interest, you can just skip on down.
In the pictures with the blue sheet under him or close to him was when he was just waking up. He reminds me of me as he really doesn’t want to open his eyes and it takes him a little while to get fully awake. Well, unless someone comes up or down the road that he has to warn. There is also a picture with my shoes showing. Once he is fully awake then he can be my shadow for a time. He watches my feet to see which way I’m going to step. Once I stand still, he sits at my feet. It can be annoying at times, but so far neither of us have gotten hurt.

https://pearlpic.shutterfly.com/pictures/56

So yesterday I woke up not feeling the best. I wasn’t sick in the sense of being sick, I just didn’t feel great. My body hurt. I finally decided to get up and go somewhere and had seen a yard sale advertised not too far from here and the place where a lot of my flowers and big boy tomatoes and the green peppers came from were having a sale. I stopped at the home having the yard sale and what I was interested in buying had been sold. She took me inside the home and down to the basement to look at some bookcases, but they were too big. However, as I was walking through the garage to go see the bookcases, I saw a Magic Bullet on the table with all the extras included. I ended up taking the Magic Bullet and am going to try and start eating healthier. I did NOT intend to buy, but then why bother to go? Well, I might find a really good deal, right? Well, I didn’t find any good deals but I did buy a 4 pack of zucchini plants, since my seeds didn’t sprout and I also bought another 4 pack of white petunias. I know. I. Don’t. Need. Them. I also bought another plant that I can’t tell you the name, but it has pretty petite yellow flowers and will trail from a planter or hanging basket. Oy Vay. I’ve created more work for myself. Anyway, I bought some of their fruit and a cucumber and a jar of apple, caramel, and pecan butter. It is delicious and I’ve used all of the jar I bought a few weeks ago. Yum! After paying for everything at the semi-health food store I headed back home. I made a quick stop at the church as I had noticed some piles of scrap that you can get if you have a need for it and low and behold I got some scrap lumber. Various lengths but think I found 4 of the same length so will probably use it for the zucchini. Who knows what I’ll end up using it for, but I have some smaller pieces that will be used somewhere at sometime.

My garage door wouldn’t close. Oh no, now what? I made sure nothing was blocking the sensors and no, there didn’t seem to be, but it would start to go down and then stop and go back up. Crap! I ended up going to the store and leaving the garage door open, which I’ve never done but it did increase my need for speed at the grocery store. On the way home, I saw A and O was behind me, so I motioned her to follow me into my driveway where I explained the problem. If you held the inside button down, it would close. Not sure what was going on, but it resumed it’s ability to go up and back down. Whew!! I unloaded the Tahoe outside the garage and then decided to go ahead and pull into the garage. Crunch Bang Uh O! I pulled into the garage with the back door UP!! I couldn’t believe what I’d just done. I knew I wasn’t feeling the best, but THIS? Cripes. A and O had heard it hit and came down to see if I was ok. I was ok, but extremely embarrassed and bumfuzzled about how I could do such a stupid thing. It didn’t hurt the garage door or the garage that I can tell and it did pop off a cover on the back windshield wiper that I found about middle of the concrete driveway on the side. So after I calmed down I tried to see if the back of the Tahoe would close and open electronically and thank God it did both with no issues. Garage door too. Counting my additional blessings is kinda scarey some days.

So, if I’m going to make it to church services, I must end this and go now. Take care and God Bless and have a wonderful day!


Last updated May 22, 2016


Roseoftexas May 22, 2016

I like you posting the 'link' because it takes y aright to the pics...I like seeing what you post in pics.

I have something like the Magic Bullet, great for smoothies etc...

Have a great Sunday...♥

ConnieK May 22, 2016

That was quite a morning of excitement! Glad both doors did not suffer damage. I never plant zucchini, since everyone brings their abundance to me. LOL!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 22, 2016

he is such a big boy. bet he'd be great to nap with. he would be so warm. looks like he takes his time waking up. i would imagine his size alone would deter any stranger walking up to your front door. raymond did that once with his blazer back door up. made a big racket but, neither the garage door or the blazer back door were damaged. after that, he was very careful when he pulled into the garage. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ May 22, 2016

He won't be an inside the house dog but he has a "room" up at the trailer for winter. It is an outside room that A and O put straw in so he has a place to stay out of the elements. He also has his choice of dog houses down here and usually picks the plastic barrel one. It too has straw and a tiny "porch roof". He sheds way too bad and slobbers enough to keep the outside glass door messy. I used to blame it on the gkids, but finally realized that when he shakes, he slings slobbers everywhere. lol

GypsyWynd May 22, 2016

He's a handsome guy.......and so BIG!!! I'd feel very safe with him guarding the yard.
Glad neither your csr nor your gsrage suffered damage. I had my garage door start acting like that. Sometimes it wouldn't close. Sometimes it wouldn't open. I had to replace the circuit board. (Sounds more complicated than it was)

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ May 23, 2016

It did it again yesterday evening so I need to find someone to work on it.

Ragdolls May 22, 2016

My garage door does that sometimes. The problem is either the electric eye sensors are out of alignment or cobwebs are in the way. What a sweet furbaby.

crystal butterfly May 24, 2016

Our garage door does that. Sometimes takes me 4 or 5 tries to get it to go all the way down. David says he has to adjust some tension some place. Sometimes it just goes a 1/4 way down. Sometimes 3/4 way. So when the latter I often come home and find that the door is open. I don't like them open if no one is at home.

Thank you for the pictures of Polka Dot.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.