More rain and cool temperatures in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 17, 2016, 5:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well we needed the rain. We’re good now. Wish it would clear off and sun come out again. Not supposed to get back to the 70s til the weekend. I’ll survive. It will be hard.

I little break in the rain caused me to quickly dawn my rain jacket, a container and a stick to hopefully quick the ripe strawberries in the little patch. Not one ripe strawberry left in the patch. There are about a 1/2 doz that are ripening. I suspect the “cute little rabbits” that have been gracing me early mornings found the strawberries. Hope they enjoyed them the little devils!! A fence will be construction as soon as the weather permits, UNLESS they get them all but next spring, there will be chicken wire to protect my strawberries. Last year I froze a lot of the bounty. I guess I could freeze the bunnies. Naw, not this time of year. They have worms. Yuk!

A tomato in a bucket. Two tomatoes in a bucket. Same bucket, both have been de-topped. Ugh! Think it is a cut worm. The tomatoes that are planted in the ground and other containers are fine, so far. Put an empty toilet paper roll, as suggested, around what is left of the tomato stem. I have more baby tomatoes I can replace it with, but going to wait.

Doing a lot of laundry. Confirmed I’m not talented at crocheting. Did make a couple of pathetic looking pot scrubbers with netting. Don’t have to entertain the idea of EVER making them to sell.

Doing some cleaning. Not too deep, but did clean out the lower cabinet under my bathroom sink and went through mail and shredded a lot of junk. Wow! Too much junk mail and a lot of it comes from places I have business with each month. I believe my credit union and my mortgage company sends me the most junk mail.

Paid my cell phone bill this morning and ended up getting a new phone. It will here in a couple of days. Hope it is something I like. It isn’t one of the “Wow” kind, just an android. I didn’t want to pay a ton for a phone that I barely use these days. Enough to keep it, but not enough for a lot of bells and whistles that I’d never use. May have to buy more memory for it in time, but passed on their offer for a mini card. I can either get one at Walmart or order one from Verizon if I see I do need more memory on the phone. I don’t take a ton of pictures with my phone, so unless one of the apps I need uses more memory than the phone has already available, then I’ll be fine.

Rain is exciting at first. It gets a bit depressing after two full days and nights though.

Did get a card addressed and in the mailbox to go out tomorrow. I had forgotten where the address was so I’m later than I wanted to be in getting it in the mail. I have the address where I can find now, so will try and send another card later in the week or weekend.

I made the beef stew that gray tabby had written about and it was the bomb. Delicious!! I have the seasoning combo made now and have to figure out where and how to store it. Maybe use a little container that I just now thought of to use. Yep, that should do it.

I did plant a few pole bean seeds next to the larger corn yesterday. I just couldn’t stand not being able to do SOMETHING outside. Hope they climb the corn stalks. The bush beans have grown a lot over the last couple of days and so have the radishes. I hope the radishes actually make as I’ve had them just have tops before. Guess I’ll end this boring entry and do something like put up my netting stuff. Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd May 17, 2016

I have a 'dumb phone' that I barely use. Can't see the need for one with bells & whistles, either.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 17, 2016

i have the samsung galaxy 4s. went from a flip phone to this one and i love it! didn't think i would though, i'm still learning about it and i've had it for 18 months or so. it'll be awhile before i get a different phone. i'm happy with this one. cute rabbits...... my foot! they might be cute in a run but, not in your strawberries! hoping nothing bothers my tomatoes. still need to get a couple more kinds. planting a bit every day. take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.