Short entry in Hello.

  • May 17, 2016, 7:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m typing this on my phone because my Kindle is poorly and in the computer hospital. :( In a way I’m kind of glad because it’s far too much of a distraction. If he can’t fix it, I might wait a bit before I get myself a new one. We’ll see!
So, after my disaster of a driving lesson last week, I came really close to ringing my instructor and telling him I didn’t want any more lessons. Thankfully I didn’t though! I had a lesson yesterday and I was fine, still a bit dithery on roundabouts, but I followed my instructor’s advice after my last lesson and spent a bit of time just sitting next to one, pretending I was an approaching car and deciding whether or not to go. (Obviously not literally, I just sat on a fence, I didn’t sit in the road making engine noises!) I did find it VERY helpful and recommended he tell all his students to do it early on in their lessons. I wish I’d done it sooner to be honest, it gave me far more confidence in my approach. My instructor told me he was actually joking and didn’t think anyone would actually do it, lol! I don’t know why, I’m guessing most car drivers would probably just think I was waiting for a lift anyway!
We went through my mock feedback. It was bad, but most of it was due to nerves, there is only a couple of points we need to work on before my test. I’m not going to tell anyone my test date, I think it puts too much pressure on me. Needless to say, it’s before we go on holiday so ideally I need to pass first time!
My instructor was also shocked that I’d felt so bad about driving that I’d almost packed it in. He asked if it was him, bless him! When I told him why, he said “don’t you DARE! You’ve invested far to much in this, I can see you’re going to be a great driver, we just needed to see what still needs work!” That made me feel a whole lot better!

We went out for dinner last night. Me, John and the girls, Katie, her husband and daughter and John’s auntie Hazel and dad. John had offered to pay as it’s Anna’s 15th birthday coming up and Katie has had something on for the past four years, meaning she couldn’t throw a party for Anna! Last year she’d just had an operation on her eye, the year before she’d just got married, the year before that, grandma had just died and this year with the Hodgkin’s! Poor Anna. It was lovely, lots of laughing and grinning. Katie’s hair has gone REALLY thin now, so she’s shaved it all off. She still looks beautiful though, her and John were blessed with AMAZING cheekbones.
I’m in the process of knitting her a stripy hat out of silk and cotton. It needs to be light but warm, and with no seam in case she needs to sleep in it. It’s got about a bazillion stitches and is going to take ages. But I feel like I’m at least doing something to help.


Last updated May 17, 2016


Bomb Shell May 17, 2016

DO NOT GIVE UP! We all get nervous when we're new drivers and if we all gave up, there would be no cars on the road. Not that it would be a bad thing, haha, but just look at how many cars are on the road and remember that every single one of us was nervous when we were learning and taking our test.

Do you think maybe some hypnosis or CBT might help with your nerves? Try meditation with positive visualisation just before your test; imagine yourself passing perfectly with no faults.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ May 17, 2016

Oh, I won't give up. I'm grateful that my instructor is so approachable and nice that I can tell him anything.
I already was doing hypnosis, but I've since realised it's the cup of coffee I always have before my lesson. It makes me jittery. Yesterday I didn't have one and I took a couple of Kalms an hour before my lesson and I was great.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ May 17, 2016

I mean meditating, not hypnosis!

nothispenelope May 17, 2016

i always assume other people are online on their computers cause i am. like oh yeah......that's right.......

Babe In Toyland nothispenelope ⋅ May 17, 2016

I don't even own a computer any more! My daughter has a laptop, but I never use that, it's always my kindle or phone.

Deleted user May 18, 2016

Don't give up! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.