1/2 way through May? Wow! in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 16, 2016, 9:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wow again. Time sailed right along when I was working, but now, it’s like, bat an eye and another month is almost over. Not liking that at all. I am just getting started for goodness sake!

Worked around here both inside and outside over the weekend. Kinda just piddling what is what I love too unless I have specifics to do. Discovered a “new toy” yesterday while Dude was here. The blow torch!! I was needing to make drain holes in the large tubs but from experience using the drill it is very easy for me to crack the plastic. I was talking to him about buying a soldering iron to use, and picked up the blow torch which intimated me right away, until he showed me how to light it. Oh My Gosh!! So easy and why on earth have I not discovered this little prize? Have now, and bought a new bottle of propane for it yesterday afternoon at Walmart. Also bought more potting soil since I’m needing more for the tubs. I got the cheapest potting soil they carry since I have so many additives already here. I think I’ll get some 10-10-10 fertilizer to add too if I think of it. Otherwise I’ll use the Miracle Grow since I have it already. Come to think of it, not sure why I would need the other kind when I have the Miracle Grow. My brain!

Made more hummingbird food this morning and filled up 3 feeders. It is raining this morning or I would have filled up a couple of more, but they hang farther out in the yard and I just may melt if I get very wet. ;)

Dude, as mentioned earlier, came down to grade the driveway up to A’s house. It really needed it and I think she had texted him to ask him if he would have time to do it. I told her not to mention it to Dad as it is extremely nerve killing to watch dad use the tractor to grade her drive. Oh my! And, bless his heart, he doesn’t do as good of a job as Dude can, although I would NEVER tell Dad that little tidbit. Isaiah came with him and watched his dad, as the hill is too steep to have any riders. Isaiah asked me about a 100 questions as I was using the blow torch to seal a crack on the bottom of tote/tub I had bought at Goodwill last week. It did take me a long time to figure out what worked, but think I’ve got down now. The flat screwdriver I use, may never be the same, but Dude said it would be ok in spite of me holding it in front of the flame over and over again to heat it to melt the plastic the tub and a piece of plastic I cut off a water bottle. Who knows what I’ll be “fixing” in the future. I still have the new full bottle of propane so I’m set for the next project with fire.

Bought 6 ft stakes last week to use for the veggies later. Dude is going to cut me a piece of rebar so I can pre-dig a hole for the stakes and the tomato cages. The rebar is strong enough to break its way through the rock unless I hit the rock bed, which I might. I’ll have better luck with the rebar so hope he can get that piece for me within a couple of weeks. I’ll figure out something else if he doesn’t but it should would make things easier with it.

I have a list of things I need at Walmart and didn’t want to bother with it yesterday. I want to do a bit of looking today and since it is raining, today is the perfect day to browse and buy. I do need some things and will make sure I have everything to make the beef stew that gray tabby wrote about in her entry. She was gracious and gave me the link to the recipe so am going to probably make it when I get home later.

IF it stops raining I’m going to do planting in the tubs since I have the soil now. I also need to pick strawberries and weed eat.

Ending this now to get ready to go shopping. Take care and God Bless


ConnieK May 16, 2016

Interesting to read about your gardening. We don't do anything during summer. Too hot.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 16, 2016

can't plant yet. too chilly to put baby plants in the ground outside. too windy to plant seeds in buckets cause the tiny seeds would fly away and i'd be growing beans, peas, carrots, lettuce, cucumbers, peppers and watermelon in the lawn! not the plan! gotta stick with the plan... the plan... buckets! take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ May 16, 2016

Yep stick with the plan. It won't be too much longer and you'll be able to plant. It seems that your stuff grows faster there than here so you may be harvesting the same time I do anyway.

cardslinger May 16, 2016

Still waiting for it to be warmer before we plant here. 2-3 weeks should do it but today we had snowflakes and raindrops falling!

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ May 16, 2016

Oh that would be the pits. Our weather said back in 1929 our area received 6.1" of snow. It can turn on a dime here, but this is one time I gamble.

cardslinger middle age pearl ⋅ May 17, 2016

Two hours north of us got 6 inches yesterday! Crazy.

crystal butterfly May 16, 2016

We got a flock of orioles instead of a flock of hummers. Have only seen one hummer couple when they can sneak in to the feeders.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.