Problems Solved and Sponsored Walk in Diary

  • May 15, 2016, 4:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thanks for all your advice on my precidaments in the last entry. As it turns out, both problems solved themselves.

Roxy’s owners were avoiding me because they felt bad about not having my money ready yet, even though I keep telling them that they have four weeks to pay each week. I eventually got all the money owed to me and now we’re square and back to walking most days.

The problem with house sitting for Jay’s cousin. They’ve had to cancel their holiday because of health problems, so I’m not doing that job for them anymore, so I don’t have to worry about the place being robbed.

So all is ok now. I’ve got quite a lot of pet sitting appointments booked for the next few months as people go on holiday, so I’ll be out of the house at least 13 hours a day for most of the summer as I work it around my full time day job. It is hard work but I enjoy spending time with the animals and the extra money certainly comes in handy.

Me and Jay had a big clear out so we had a stall at a car boot sale last week. The first half an hour was a nightmare. As soon as we pulled up in the car, we were mobbed. People were rummaging through the car before we had a chance to get anything out asking how much everything was and loads of people all trying to talk to us at once. They were very rude and it was quite stressful. We didn’t even know what some of the stuff was that we had as Jay’s mam had given us a bunch of stuff to sell and we hadn’t looked through it, never mind thought of prices. The weather was lovely, though, and we took about £50 throughout the day, which is better than a kick in the teeth. We still have a big bunch of stuff to get rid of, though. I don’t want to put it on eBay as there are about 70 items altogether and it’s a right pain when most of them are only worth between £1 - £4. I’ve took quick photos of them all and posted them on a selling page on Facebook, but if they don’t go there, I’m just going to take it all to a charity shop.

I went to Sheffield yesterday to watch my team play roller derby. They lost by a long way as the other team were a lot better. The other team had some interesting tactics and I’d like to discuss some of them in the debrief tomorrow.

The minibus on the way back was fun. Some people bought alcohol (I didn’t, I had to drive when I got back) and got quite tipsy. I always though Binty didn’t like me as she’s never really spoken to me and usually come across as being quite aggressive. But on the minibus yesterday, me, Binty and Pressa had a right good gossip during the two hour journey back and they were telling me some quite personal stuff. I don’t know if it was the booze that was talking but it was nice anyway. We were also singing along quite loudly to some cheesy music like Kylie Minogue, Journey and the Fresh Prince. I’m not sure whether or not I’ll go on the minibus or drive next time as it’s a LONG day on the minibus due to the players having to be there quite early. But as I’m a spectator for the British Champs games, I can get away with getting there a couple of hours later and then I can leave when I want. But it was lots of fun! I’ll have to see how I feel nearer the time.

Me and my dad have decided to do a sponsored walk in September; climbing mount Snowdon to raise money for Animals Asia. Snowdon is the highest mountain in England and Wales and we’ve been climbing mountains together ever since I can walk so it should be fun. If you would like to sponsor us to help rescue moon bears from the bile trade, cats and dogs stolen from their owners for the meat trade and zoo and circus animals from a lifetime of abuse, then please do, it would be gratefully appreciated, thank you :o) My fundraising page is here.

This time next week I’ll be all packed and ready for my trip to Spain :o)


history of love May 15, 2016

Wow, the people at the carboot were rude :( you could also try selling your things on gumtree, I've had a fair amount of success with it when selling items.
I'll hopefully be able to sponsor you closer to the time (when I have a job)
Spain! Kinda jealous, not gonna lie. Have a super time!

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ May 16, 2016

I know, I couldn't believe it! I put a post on Facebook about the rude people and everyone was saying it's perfectly normal as they are most likely other sellers trying to get bargains to sell at an inflated price on their stall. I wish I'd known this so I could be prepared. Thanks for the tip, I might have a look.

Thank you! Good luck with the job hunt.

Ah it's cool, my parents have an apartment and they're there at the moment, so I only have to pay for my flight and spending money to go and join them, accommodation is free so I get a nice cheap holiday :o)

Lucretia May 16, 2016

Oh I HATE carboot selling. Rude people everywhere. Some people want to barter when you offer a low price then you mentally put a higher price on things and no one barters and say you're 'too expensive': hate it. Well done on getting £50 and not going on a killing spree!

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ May 16, 2016

Yeah that was a problem, I haven't mastered the art of bartering. When I saw people leaping on things and buying them right away, I thought I'd charged too little. But when I bumped up prices a bit, some people just looked disgusted and walked off. I even tried saying to some of them they could make me an offer, but they just shook their heads.

Etoile Filante May 17, 2016

I have never done a car boot!! xXx

Babe In Toyland May 17, 2016

Sad I'm missing out on fun times! But there will be more, yay!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.