Cover my fingers in blood in The eye of every storm

  • May 14, 2016, 11:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been out of work nearly two months. Not as in fired. Just not working. My hip was all hurty for most of March, then I had my surgery, and I guess these things take time, ya know.

I go back on Monday for the first time since March 06. I got an email today offering me a promotion.

It’ll be like a 7% pay raise. Probably break me over that $70K point, so its baby making money.

If you’re into making babies.

I’m into whiskey and musical instruments though.

I’ve been playing a lot of guitar. I mean a lot. a proverbial fucking ton of feathers worth of guitar.

Here’s a song I wrote about some people that used to hang out on the street corner when I lived Downtown in The City. The video is out of focus, but so am I recently.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

I don’t know how to get those stupid tags off. Sorry about that. Here’s the lyrics:

Ode to the Men of Main and Akard
by Me, who can’t sing, but knows what a diminished 7th is.

Coffee black and sinner white
I’m searching for the will to fight it all
But I’ve lost my strength near the kitchen sink
By the broken bottles on the floor

Messy hair but I don’t care
There’s no point in being here at all
So I say goodnight, I say goodbye
I swear to god this time I’m
Leaving this all behind forever more

Is it too late to ask for a favor?
Is it too dark to go searching for a savior?
I’m looking far, I’m looking wide
Ever forward and not behind
So just leave me when I’m like this

Dust and blood and grit in bone
I’ve lost myself but found a home with the dead
Our eyes don’t blink and we kind of stink
Dirty needle take me somewhere alone

Cast your stones, avert your eyes
You’re the son, Father of Lies, from which I’m born
So take a drink, so I can’t think
A thousand million miles from home

Is it too late to ask for a favor?
Is it too dark to go searching for a savior?
I’m looking far, I’m looking wide
Ever forward and not behind
So just leave me when I’m like this

Am I too weak to seek out our Maker?
Are we too cold to be taken care of?
I’m searching close while I’m crawling far
Never enough, I just find a bar
So just leave me alone when I’m like this


Last updated May 14, 2016


Deleted user May 14, 2016

Looks like you've been using the downtime well- another great one. congrats on the promo! moving on up.

=bernard= May 15, 2016

Yup, congrats on the promotion.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.