Home in The Common Room

  • Dec. 31, 2013, 1 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Checking in to say that I’m alive and home.

So encouraged by lovely, thoughtful notes. Going down the list trying to make thanks personal.

Sore throat last night but gone now. Nose filling throat with sticky stuff and foaming up in cough (you needed to know that, right?)

My left hand looks very young as the swelling has pulled out all the wrinkles. Neat concept. Maybe I should quit trying to lose weight and let it pile on. Nice smooth skin. I jest, of course.

All else the same, except that there is definitely something solid there, not liquid.

Results from doctor in afternoon of Thursday. He arranged for youngest daughter to be there, which does not bode well either.

I call myself an optimistic pessimist. My lifelong premise has been that if I expect ill, I’ll never be disappointed. If ill arrives, I knew it already. If good arrives, I’m pleasantly surprised.

A surprise would be nice.

Until again, Katren


Deleted user December 31, 2013

LOL, why don't you just take some of my weight? You're right about it stretching out the wrinkles, though. Here's to hoping for a nice surprise to start the new year off! I'll be thinking of you on Thursday.

Eriu December 31, 2013

Think of it all as good news - if it's something you'd rather not have heard, you'll know what the problem is and what to do about it.

NorthernSeeker January 01, 2014

I hope your news is good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.