Rubbish in Hello.

  • May 11, 2016, 2:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I had a mock driving test. I was a bit nervous before I got in the car, but only as nervous as I always am before a driving lesson. But then as soon as my instructor reminded me we were going to have my mock, everything went out of my head. At the traffic lights out of town (on a hill) I rolled backwards, almost into the tractor behind me, then spent so long sorting myself out that I missed the green light.
TWICE.
I’ve done that junction a thousand times, my instructor always thinks it’s funny that I choose to drive out of town that way, rather than the easier flat way and I always say that I’m never going to learn properly doing that. As we pulled away, he said “I haven’t started the mock yet, don’t worry!” And then I was fine, no mistakes, perfect driving. He made me drive to the test centre, took me inside to look around, and from then on pretended he was my examiner. I started fine, a couple of minors that I told him I was aware of. Then I rolled backwards at the lights AGAIN, waited too long at several roundabouts, stalled about ten feet from a junction (I don’t even know HOW!), stopped too far away from the junction for my reverse around the corner, almost pulled out from parking into oncoming traffic (I could tell he was getting annoyed with me by this point, as he reached over and turned my indicator off without saying a word then telling me to turn the engine off!) then forgot how to parallel park. A load of really stupid mistakes and I know that all it was was nerves! I was ready to get into the passenger seat and ask him to take me home, lol!
So I was really, REALLY angry with myself. I felt really weepy and sick when I got home. It’s been really dwelling on my mind, if I’m like that with my instructor, what am I going to be like on the actual day!!?? I tried having a word with myself, I know he’s doing this now so I can see where my weaknesses lie. But I don’t think I’ve ever felt as pathetic as I have been since then. We didn’t have enough time to go over my feedback form, so I don’t even know what my minors or my strengths are.
So we decided the best thing to do would be to postpone my test a bit. He’s got a pupil he wants to bring forward, so he’s ringing me this evening with another date and he’s going to go on the DVLA website and swap both our test dates. It looks like it’s going to be mid July now, I really need to pass it then because we’re supposed to be going on holiday the first week in August and I was really hoping on driving us.

I had an American ask me why us Brits get so nervous before our driving tests, so out of curiosity, I had a look on YouTube to see the difference. Oh my God, our test is a million times more complicated! The American one was on a disused base (by the looks of things) took 9 minutes and involved driving forwards, driving backwards a bit, three point turn and parallel parking, all in a car that just goes when you press the gas! Have a look for yourself and see the difference.
UK driving test: (Most people in the UK drive a manual, so most people learn in one too.)

Utah driving test:

There are so many things in the USA test that would have my instructor jumping up and down, looking out the back window before turning right but not left (why? There are no blind spots behind the car!), not using the wing mirrors at all (I’m constantly checking mine on lessons) dry steering, crossing hands on the wheel, even letting go of the wheel and letting it spring back by itself....it looks REALLY easy to pass, I’d have passed this after about five hours tuition!


Last updated May 11, 2016


Bomb Shell May 11, 2016

Do they really do their test on a road with no other cars on it?? I know the British test is difficult and stressful, but I would rather it was this way to ensure that standards are really up to par, it's a lot safer.

But yeah, listen to all the people who had bad experiences on their tests and still passed, it can and does happen! I don't know what to suggest to stop your nerves getting the better of you because it does seem like it's the only thing that's holding you back. You should go with your suggestion of just "taking your mate for a drive." and not thinking of him / her as an examiner.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ May 11, 2016

Actually, watching the Utah test, a car does actually drive behind her while she's getting her results, so I'm not sure if maybe she is on a public road and it's just really quiet!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ May 11, 2016

Oh and yes, I quite agree (in a Scottish accent) that our test should be difficult. I don't know how the Utah girl demonstrated she could drive safely anywhere there might be other cars!

Seacláid May 11, 2016

Just treat your test like a lesson. It's no different. The second you put test in your head is the second your brain goes in to panic and you end up doing stupid mistakes.

Babe In Toyland Seacláid ⋅ May 11, 2016

Easier said than done! That was my intention, but my brain told me otherwise, lol!

puffin May 11, 2016

I was so sick with nerves with my test, I felt like I was being sentenced to life in prison or something! I couldn't talk or eat and felt so sick. Seems like I used up all my nerves beforehand and went into robot mode for the test and passed! I think nerves is both a curse and a blessing xx

puffin May 11, 2016

That being said I hated the driving nerves so much I drove about 3 times after passing and not at all in the last 6 years! Whoops

Babe In Toyland puffin ⋅ May 11, 2016

I'm really looking forward to being able to drive! I can't wait to go to Keilder and Northumbria and the highlands without having to rely on public transport.

katie May 11, 2016

My driving test in USA was on our main roads with other cars. The Utah video looked like a really fancy practice area. I've never seen one like that before. I would definitely be nervous driving in the UK though! We rarely drive manual cars here, and the driving lanes are wide and much easier to navigate than the narrow roads in the UK. Your test is much, much scarier! We also have to have a learners permit for a year before we can get a license (where you must practice with a licensed driver) and have to pass a written test as well. Good luck though! Sounds like you just need to get some more confidence. I agree that it may be a good idea to just go and spend the whole day driving with someone.

Babe In Toyland katie ⋅ May 12, 2016

Yeah, we have to do a written test, I passed mine in November. Don't forget, a lot of our roads and houses were built before cars were ever thought of, hence they're much more narrow and have cars parked up and down them!

katie Babe In Toyland ⋅ May 12, 2016

That's so true and cool! What awesome history :)

Lucretia May 12, 2016

This is why you do the mock test, so ride it out until you can conquer the real thing. You've got it in you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.