Missing April Entry! in Majimaze Musing!

  • May 9, 2016, 5:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi there folks.I did try to do an entry on Saturday,however,when nearly done,it disappeared!Put me clean off doing another one!I have had a very busy April and May is a bit quieter looking.I will start with the big adventure.
In February,myeldest daughter Janet and her partner Bill bought about 5 hectares or ten acres down in the Central Plateau which is the centre of our North Island and home to 3 big mountains.Ruapehu,Ngaruahoe and Tongariro.
Janet and family live on the island,however, needed a ‘bolthole’ for themselves and us,the rest of the family.The patch is between Ohakune and National Park and is beside the main trunk railway line and the main road,which creates quite a noisy slice!!However, it is quite isolated really and has two old villas on it and a lovely big area of native bush and plenty of outbuildings.It is mountain country,high on the plateau and we have a lovely view of Mt Ruapehu from the porch of the big house.I
I wasn’t keen on going down as it is Autumn here and I am NOT a cold weather person.Me ole’ bones hate being cold.However, my son Richard,lives near there and I hadn’t seen him for two years!He is a bushman,fencing contractor and avid deer-hunter and has been living down that way for almost 20 years.I get phone cals and keep in touch ,however, needed to see him and be close to him.
Also,I wouldn’t be able to fit in any of the vehicles going down so would have to travel by bus and my dog go down with Penny!Quite a little group of us going down!Plenty of room tho,for Janet and Bill and family,Penny and her girls and Samantha’s (Janets daughter0 and boyfriend Corbin.Janet clinched the deal by aying my bus fare.It is an 8 hour trip!!!The bus services awhole bucnch of areas which accounts for the length.However, I am very used to bus trips.A train trip would have been nice,except that none of the services fitted my requirements.
The scenery on the way down is utterly gorgeous when you get past the big cities.I was enchanted when I saw the lace,as the houses were delightful and old and the environment so different from here.I was only going to be there 5 days and 2 of those travelling.
Both houses were well endowed with heating sources ,big wood stoves and heaters.And it was great fun all being flung together!Lucky for Janet,she and Bill went to sleep at the smaller house!And Taitai my little dog (who arrived safely!) had our own room!I was always the first u and about ,so started the fire in the mornings.I always enjoy that task.
Mostly it was utterly hilarious!!!I absolutely LOVED it!We are a great family for teasing and Corbin the boyfriend was ‘fresh bait’!Luckily he has a TERRIFIC sense of humour and a very thick hide so survived all our onslaughts.Oh yes, I gave as good as I got as usual and loved it!
The only difficulty was getting my son out of the bush to see his Mum!It is deer hunting season!However, this Mum is nothing if not persistent and eventually ,after a bit of emotional blackmail,(I am getting old etc!) He agreed to meet us at National Park,about 15 mins drive away!
The next problem was getting there!Now,there is a bit of a back story here as Richardwanted to buy some of Janet and Bills land and they didn’t want him to and he is in a bit of a tanty about it and Penny has got protective about her sister,so apart from walking,what was I to do?
I threatened to walk there along the main road!!!!Yes,very naughty!Worked tho’!!!
Penny found out there was a minigolf course at National Park,so after swallowing a few dead rats,she came around to taking me and the kids and they could play mini-golf!Then Sammy and Corbin decided to come and Bill and Janet stay at home.I was elated!
Richard was also bringing his new fiance’ whom I only knew about when they got engaged so that was a bonus as well!The amount of texting that took place was phenomonal!And the stress as Penny got over herself .....phew!!So I sat at the minigolf as they played,freezing my butt off then when they were due to arrive we went to a cafe/bar and had hot coffees and chocolates for kids and nachos

and finally …there he was!It was SOoo-oo worth it!I was absolutely in heaven with his hugs and meeting the fiance’ and enny was wonderful,teasing him as usual and the kids all over him.He is looking so fit.A big man,no fat,all muscle and dressed in his usual tee-shirt and shorts and boots and his petite red haired fiance just smiled!.Yes,it was soooo wotrth all the hassle and my stubborn persistence.I only wish he would get over himself and patch it up with Janet and Bill.I didn’t mention anything of course.Its difficult under these circumstances as they are all adults now.I don’t think it would be helpful if I put my oar in.Anyway I was so delighted to just watch him and love him.
So,mission accomplished.We also went to the big Army Museum nearby,(well 50 km anyway) on Anzac Day.It is huge,and coming froam a military family and the widow of an ex-soldier,who served in Malaya during the conflict there,it was magnificent AND very moving and I was almost overwhelmed.I took lots of photos so will try to put them up sometime.
It was a long trip home by bus,and I had to wait in Auckland for my ferry at 10pm!Finally reached my liitle home 11.30 pm,exhausted and happy.Penny and kids and Taitai arrived next day.So,a big adventure and a wonderful reunion.
The rest of April was pretty busy.I did a speech at Toastmasters on My life in theatre, rather poignant as Polz has left and I did a lot of theatre with her.It is strange without her altho I understand her reasons.
It is still Autumn here and stil warm and sunny,albeit a bit cool on my early morning walksThe weather is about to change tho with a big set of fronts coming in and a change with rain.And I guess, Winter.UGH!!!!
Must finish now and get my housework done.
Love you all,be kind to each other.And be happy,
Lots of lovexxxxxxxxx
Majimazexxxx


Last updated May 10, 2016


GypsyWynd May 09, 2016

What an adventure! And a wonderful trip! Having family all together is so grand!

crystal butterfly May 09, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.