Got "Preachy" Again in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • May 7, 2016, 11:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t normally post things like this or get “preachy” and talk about my faith to those that don’t ask, but it’s been said to me so many times, I felt like I wanted to clarify a point that kind of sticks in my craw. It’s over a misquote or misunderstanding over 1st Corinthians 10:13, which references temptation.
At least a dozen people, in their attempts to offer consolation over the deaths of Bradley and Shea, and the horrendous aftermath, have said, “The bible says that God will never give you more than you can handle”.
I’ve never seen any such passage in the bible; Additionally, God does not send tragedy to us; death and loss such as this are simply a by-product of living in a fallen world. God did not pump alcohol and drugs into that young man and whisper into his ear to go down the highway and kill my children. He did that all on his own. Life can, and frequently does, give us more than we can handle on our own.
What He does promise, is that He will never give you more than HE can handle. In the 40th chapter of the book of Isaiah, you can find the following;

Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

And that, friends and loved ones, is how I get through these times. It’s not easy, but I wasn’t promised it would be; it just is.


Last updated May 07, 2016


NeonLady May 07, 2016

EXACTLY! In fact I've heard the argument that He certainly gives us more than we can handle - it keeps us in persuit of Him. We can't but He can! Great post.

I need tea. May 09, 2016

Xxxxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.