It's Friday in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 6, 2016, 6:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I like Friday. I don’t have to get J up for work so my morning is my own. It’s another cool morning out there. Low 40s again but no wind or breeze. I’ve been out on the porch in my chair with my coffee watching the early morning darkness transition into lightness. The two rabbits were busy criss crossing the yards and with a hint of daylight the hummers started appearing at the feeders. Refilled two of the feeders yesterday afternoon and need to make more sugar water this morning.

Yesterday was a pretty productive day, although I didn’t get one of the “musts” done. I didn’t sweep anything. Did do dishes and since I was anxious to work outside I loaded the dishwasher and washed dishes the lazy way. I also did a couple of loads of laundry and my working outside all the time keeps me busy keeping my outside work clothes ready for the next day.

The first thing I did yesterday morning was to till the end of the little area where I planted the sweet corn starts and direct sowed more corn seed. You’d think the way I talk and write about my outside planting that I have a lot of stuff, but actually not so. I planted 7 corn plants and then planted 8-10 more seed. So actually that isn’t a lot, but took me a lot of time and physical labor. lol

The 4 green pepper plants are planted in totes (2 peppers per tote), the cucumber’s are in containers that I put in the non-working gas grill that I used last year for flowers that didn’t work good. That’s why I used containers this year to sit inside the grill. Time will tell as it always does, and since it still has it’s wheels, it makes it portable so I can move it around until the cucumbers plants start getting too long. It took me most of the morning to mix the potting soil concoction and get it to the totes. Man that stuff is heavy. Thankfully I have a heavy duty wagon that I use to transport the potting concoction.

A called me at noonish and she was finishing up with the extra job she is doing 2 x a week and long story short, I met her for lunch (her treat) and then we drove down to the Amish store and she bought me flowers to plant for Mother’s Day. I bought a few extra and will try to get them planted up today. I bought her some plants too and then we went to Lowe’s to get more potting soil. I got a bag and I got her a bag. She is finally interested in dirt work. She and O cut all the sprouts and other stuff out of the big front flower bed up at the trailer and she is going to put fresh dirt and work it up and then plant the flowers we got yesterday in it. Not sure why that makes me so happy but it makes me happy. I told her I’d also give her the amendments to add to the bag of potting soil and the bag of top soil and I have miracle grow too she can mix in too. I hope it does great for her, because that inspires you to continue onward and upward in playing/working in the dirt. Best of all she will have O there too so he will be able to help her weed and water it when needed. He helped me for about 30 minutes yesterday afternoon when I was mixing more potting soil for one of the pepper totes. I let him plant the two that went in it and then water it. Maybe the tradition of working hard, keeping busy, growing things with your own hands will carry on and may keep his path in life a little less rocky. Yes, that was a pun, but I mean it to.

So I have managed to have my outside as disjointed as the inside of my house with all the garden tools, and various things I dig out at planting time, and the inside is presentable but has much that needs to be done. Ah well. I’ll care. I do care, but I’m retired and I’m doing things I’ve been thinking and visioning about for so many years. Oh joy!! God is sooooo Good!!

Must get started. It’s almost 7am. Take care and God Bless!!


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 06, 2016

i just noticed that tiny itty bitty lettuce plants are poking up thru the dirt in the 4 pots on the porch. it's almost time for me to get my compost and top soil mixed and into my buckets so when it does warm up, i can get to planting seeds. in a couple of weeks, i'll buy several tomato plants. i think i'll plant some bush beans later this morning. and i'm thinking some shade flowers on the north side of the house and under the apple tree. first day in weeks that it hasn't rained or been cold and cloudy. gonna get a lot done today outside. take care,

ConnieK May 06, 2016

A "less rocky life" would do a LOT of people good, I think. Working with the soil will help bring him back to basics. I'm rooting for his continued success!

GypsyWynd May 06, 2016

God bless people who like to garden. I like gardens, and am a grateful recipient of surplus produce. I tried gardening.......and found i detested it. I admire those who enjoy it.

cardslinger May 06, 2016

What's in your soil concoction? I dabble in outdoor growing but never put enough time and energy into it to make things grow well but maybe that will change when I retire...hahaha....retire from being a domestic engineer!

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ May 06, 2016

I add vermiculite and sphagnum moss, lime, and if I'm amending previously used potting soil I will add epsom salt and some miracle grow fertilizer. I add this to a either a new bag of potting soil and a bag of top soil combined to stretch the potting soil since it is getting more expensive every year. I hope in the future I'll just add the lime and a bit of fertilizer and be done with it.

middle age pearl May 06, 2016

The lime and epsom salt add ins are dependent on what I'm planting in the soil mix. Some plants don't want or need the epsom salt but our earth dirt here usually always needs a bit of lime. We have to add lime to our hay fields to produce a better hay crop every few years.

FormerlyMe May 06, 2016

Hope the day continued to be beautiful.

seafarer May 12, 2016

my Mom is like you, she can't wait to get her hands in the dirt.... me, not so much!! She came by the other day and planted a hibiscus.... I cut back my butterfly bushes (waited way to long to do so!!) But anyway, I'd rather be in the house doing crafts!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.