Voting and giving in blackpropaganda

  • May 5, 2016, 1:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I voted today. There seem to be elections for some body, or position or another all over the UK - from local councils, to Police Commissioners, to Mayors, to Assemblies from John O Groats to Lands End - and Londonderry to London.
I always vote in local and parliamentary elections - it was ingrained in me as a lad. My father was a working man who had been part of the whole system of trying to improve the condition of their class. The non-revolutionary way was through the extension of democracy - and it was important to make sure that you used the franchise - even if you lost your opinion was counted.
I can never understand people who complain about their rulers, and then say it is not worth voting - OK, the odds may be stacked against you, but there might be a time when your vote will be crucial.
I guess my vote may not count for much today - but I have respected those who fought for my right to have the vote against much opposition.
I must admit though I might have some misgivings if I was a US citizen and had to decide between DJT and HC - but it still amazes me that, for all its faults the US, with its size and diversity, still operates a democratic system. And the success of DJT shows that the ordinary people can show their strength and voice - even if many might not like what they are supporting. No such chance of that happening in Putin’s Russia!
Anyway, it was nice weather today - and I wonder why we are off to Spain where rain is expected for much of next week!!! At least it will be warm rain. And they certainly need it where we have our place.
Oh, and I made a contribution to National Masturbation Month today - not a lot - but then as you get older there is less to give!!!!


Deleted user May 05, 2016

I won't be voting in our election this fall. I don't either Trump or Clinton, and voting for a lesser evil is still voting for a evil. I hope to be one of those who can sit back when things go wrong in the U.S and say to everyone else "told you so!".

roseystar May 07, 2016

I miss having a vote. Currently totally disenfranchised and really feel the loss. My mum chose not to vote in the recent Irish elections and it pissed me off no end.

colojojo May 20, 2016

My brother told me he isn't voting. I understand why people say they won't vote. They can't see voting for either person. I get it. But if you get SO many people that DON'T vote, the people who are passionate about those extreme parties are the ones controlling the vote, and I don't think that's good at all.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.