Thursday Mornin-6:22a in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 5, 2016, 6:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the low 40s this morning. The cooler temps don’t seem to faze the rabbits or the hummers. I counted 10 hummers this morning at the feeders, but who can tell how many there really are since they are so fast? LoL Nothing is any better than sit out on the porch (even in my fleece robe) and watch the rabbits and hummers doing what they do and that is pretty much eating. I will say the hummers weren’t fighting as much this morning and it was really neat to watch one of the feeders have each eating opening with a little hummer sitting there eating. Kinda like everyone gathered around a supper table for a family meal. The “serene” meal didn’t usually last long as a visitor would soon appear, and disrupt the serene table, but still it is enjoyable to observe.

The rabbits (I think there are only two) are very busy rabbits. Sometimes they are together but a lot of times they are in different parts of the yard. The are not afraid of me at all and they watch me watch them. On occasion they will raise up on their back legs to give me an even closer look. Guess they are making sure I’m “safe” and just part of the surroundings and not hunting rabbit for a meal.

Since Big Kitty passed away last winter and my Boarder Collie, Skippy, are no longer with me, the rabbits feel much safer coming farther into the yard and closer to the house. With that knowledge, I put a little fence around my sweet corn plants yesterday afternoon.

The majority of yesterday was driving Dad to the stores he wanted to visit. First we went to Lowe’s so he could look for plants and flowers. He picked out hanging baskets for each of us girls. Well actually he picked out a red hang geranium for sister and a pink one for brother’s wife. He had me pick out one for myself and I picked out a snapdragon hanging basket with multi colors and then decided to buy a companion to go with it on my front porch hangers. They are running a special on their hanging baskets and the price was great!! He also bought a 6 pack of wave petunia’s to put on his huge rock planter in his front yard and then we were off to the next place. He was looking for big tomato plants, and Lowe’s had some, but they were priced for more than he (or I) would pay for one tomato plant. The feed store usually have reasonably priced, and very healthy plants in the spring and they do this year too. He ended up buying 24 tomato plants including cherry, grape, and Big Boys. For a man who said he wasn’t going to plant any tomatoes this year, he’s got a lot and not enough planters. He was wanting to give me some “big” tomato plants before we ever got home, but I have more than enough as is. I had offered him some of my grape, cherry, and big beef plants, but he wouldn’t take any of them. Course my plants aren’t as big (old) as what he bought, so he’ll probably be eating tomatoes way before I do. And that is fine. It will give him something to do and especially since his dog isn’t there to take care of any longer.

While at the feed store I bought a 25ft x 4ft roll of chicken wire to use around my corn.

After we got our stuff at the feed store it was Walmart time. Then after Walmart we ate a late lunch and then home. We were both tired and his back was really hurting him. I offered to go to his house to help him get all his plants and groceries unloaded, but he said he could do it himself. Then he planned to take a nap. I wonder if he planted anything yesterday evening. I suspect he did even though he said he was going to wait until today. It is hard not to plant a new plant when you have them in front of you and they are begging for it.

Today I plan to directly sow a few more corn seed in my tiny little spot for the corn, plant my bigger tomato plants that I purchased a few days ago, and hopefully spray the ivy killer. I also may enlarge the front flower bed again since one end I’m seeing more chick weed. I hate that stuff!!

I bought 2 types of green beans to try again since the other seeds didn’t come up. I’ll plant the bush bean seed in tubs and wait to see how the corn does, and if it does grow nicely, I’ll plant a few of the pole bean seeds in the corn bed.

I MUST wash dishes today.

I MUST sweep the kitchen and utility room floors today.

I MUST end this long entry, warm up my coffee, and think about watering the corn plants after I get dressed.

Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd May 05, 2016

There won't be only 2 rabbits for long!

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ May 05, 2016

I think they may have a young litter now but so far haven't seen any of them yet. It will be interesting for sure.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 05, 2016

i need to get a couple things planted soon. it's really not the kind of temps that are needed to plant. i still fear frost for the next 2 to 3 weeks. not planting yet. need to get some tomato plants in the next few weeks. love cherry tomatoes, love big slicing tomatoes for sandwiches, love fresh tomatoes for cooking. love making tomato sauce and freezing it. take care,

FormerlyMe May 09, 2016

I feel so good with my house coming along, I am in a better space just reducing some hours, it must be amazing to be retired.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.