One year in Just me!

  • May 3, 2016, 11:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday it was one year since our sweet Owen was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. Since then he has turned 13, entered 7th grade, finished chemo, been declared NED (no evidence of disease), and has grown back a full head of curly hair. So precious! I have had a hard few days, just reliving the horror of that time. I was so devastated when we found out, and it still hurts my heart so much that he has ever had to deal with cancer. Love him so much!


Deleted user May 03, 2016

I am so very happy to learn that Owen is doing well and is free of cancer. Just wonderful, wonderful news. It is hard to watch someone that you love so very much go through cancer treatment. I can understand why it's been so hard for you when it come to Owen. I'm with you, I wish Owen never would have had to deal with cancer. Sometimes life can be difficult can't it. I do hope Owen is enjoying life and it sounds like he is. I really, really hope that someday a cure for cancer will be found. Or better yet treatment that can prevent cancer in the first place. (((Hugs)))

hotjavy Deleted user ⋅ May 04, 2016

Thank you! That's why I do Relay For Life every year. I want to find a cure so people like Owen and me will be a thing of the past!

Deleted user hotjavy ⋅ May 04, 2016

I think I'm going to do Relay For Life too. I'll do it in honor of my beloved sister Kim. It seems cancer touches so many lives doesn't it. I want to find a cure too and I also want there to be preventive measures that can be taken. Oh, I think we know of some already. Eating well and maintaining a healthy weight is very important along with exercise. But I hope there will be more that can be done to prevent cancer. Colonoscopies are a good tool. My polyps are found and done away with before they have a chance to develop into possible cancer. That's a very good thing. Thank you for inspiring me to do Relay For Life. I'm very serious about participating.

hotjavy Deleted user ⋅ May 05, 2016

Do it! It will be a blessing. I used to do it even before I was a survivor, and it always moved me.

crystal butterfly May 05, 2016

Wonderful news!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.