A cloudy Monday AM in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 2, 2016, 9:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s about 50 out there. Not bad. Overcast but don’t think we’re suppose to get rain. Worked outside a lot yesterday. Mowed the yard, hoed the front flower bed, started doing some digging on where some of the veggie plants will go. In my front yard. If there is nothing but chick weed in a space, I’ve decided to dig it up, add amendments, potting soil and top soil and plant the dang spot in something besides grass. Besides, working the soil and adding good stuff, may cause it grow grass when I’m trying to grow food. That would be pretty typical. The corn babies are just about past their time for ground planting. Actually it is not recommended to start the seeds anywhere but you’re planting them to grow to maturity. With that and the high % that a critter will get to the young plants or even the corn if it makes it that far are pretty high. I will put out things to scare away the critters but the critters can be pretty aggressive when it come to an easy meal.

Fixed myself scrambled eggs and 2 sausage links for breakfast. It was good and now I’m full.

Going to strip J’s bed today, and wash his bed stuff. He hasn’t slept in it a lot, but still want to get that done. Monday’s are usually when I do some cleaning in his room and this is Monday.

I’m going to have to get a sweatshirt to put on. I’m getting chills from being cold and so are my fingers.

The hummingbirds came swarming in yesterday. I had 3 or 4 that have been here for a few days, but yesterday, oh my. Then this morning there were even more. I put out another feeder and made more sugar water to have ready when needed.

My imagination is driving me crazy with ideas swirling around in my head. Yesterday afternoon I spent 30 minutes just trying to roll a very large rock over. Couldn’t cause it is just too big. Dang! Was going to roll it to put in the front flower bed. I may be able to come up with a plan to get it up here, and seriously considering using a rope and the riding mower.

11:30 AM
it is chilly out there. Even with a sweat shirt, I had to come in and warm up a bit. It is still cloudy and looks and feels like it could rain any minute. Went to the shop to get the 2 cycle weed eater, and like the last couple of years, haven’t been able to get it started. The plan wasn’t to weed eat, but to attach the tiller attachment to it to till a couple of places where I’ve decided to plant some stuff. Oh well. On to another plan. I’m going to google small and easy to start tiller and see if anything comes up that meets my budget and needs. We do grow a healthy crop of rock here, so it needs to be a little heavy duty yet a size I can manage. *sigh So many requirements this plan may not happen. It may be the hoe method which is hard on a body. Also have a dull headache hanging around and not much fond of the pain. Don’t want to take an Aleve or Tylenol as I’ve been taking them sometimes before I go to bed.

Since I don’t want to work outside cause it is colder than I want, I may make a quick trip to somewhere for something. Feeling the need to get out and about.

I can’t think this morning or plan. Thoughts are all over the place. It is time for another list or two to be composed I guess.

I suppose I’ll end this and post it now. Take care and God Bless


Last updated May 02, 2016


Deleted user May 02, 2016

It's cool today but projected to be 90 degrees by end of week here in Las Vegas.

crystal butterfly May 03, 2016

We grow a multitude of rock here too.

seafarer May 12, 2016

I agree with Shelyn!!! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.