Feeling sick in Hello.

  • May 2, 2016, 6:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve gone back to the bag of nerves I was when I first started driving lessons. But this isn’t because I’m scared of driving anymore, it’s because we’re now on countdown to my test! It’s a month today!
I had a lesson this morning and I spent a lot of my sleeping time last night worrying about stupid driving stuff. I still struggle a bit on roundabouts, especially when there’s a lot of cars. My driving instructor says I’m far too cautious, which can be bad because it impacts on other drivers. I know now that he does set the bar really high, he goes above and beyond what is expected of me (a favourite line is “why are you doing 57 in a sixty zone? Get to the speed please!”) but that’s good in that when my test day comes, I’ll hopefully be much better than what they need me to be!
He’s a bit conscious that he’s strict and has asked me on more than one occasion if he’s too harsh. I always say no, it’s better to be that way than too soft! (When we’re doing long straight stretches and we’re just chatting, he IS lovely!)
Today we did a “practice mock” test, with my mock test next week. We did all the usual stuff, plus turn in the road, reversing round a corner (twice, once reversing downhill!) uphill and downhill starts and had a look at the controls and the engine. In the UK, they choose one of four manoeuvres for your test, reversing round a corner, parallel parking, turn in the road (aka 3 point turn) and reverse bay parking. Although they don’t do reverse bay parking round here because there’s nowhere to do it, so I don’t have to learn that one if i don’t want. That’s something I can learn myself once I’ve passed, that and motorway driving.
I’m going to be a nervous wreck on the day, I just know! But he made me feel confident by saying he thought I was well on track, we just needed to tidy up a few loose ends.
I made the mistake of deciding to move our bedroom furniture around last night. About three or four weeks ago, the landlady told us a builder needed access to our upstairs window, could we please move the furniture? So our bed has been sitting in the middle of the room, the rest of the furniture in complete disarray around it. Our bedroom isn’t enormous, so it was like Tetris trying to move all the furniture around last night! I finally got our bed in place, put clean sheets on it and tidied our bedside tables so it looked lovely. But it took me ages and the rest of the room is still a tip, haha! But I’m off work today (bank holiday) so I’m hoping to get it finished.
John started his new job today! Because he’s still working his notice of his other job, it means he’s going to have hardly any days off. One day this month and none next month! I hope he doesn’t make himself ill. :(
I’m trying to lose a bit of weight. Again. I’m doing the Dukan, although I’m not being REALLY strict (the odd bit of potato or carrot here and there, bacon, etc....) basically I’m sticking to the ethos of the diet, which is very low carbs, high protein, but I’m not beating myself up over little blips. The thing I find with this diet is that once you’ve filled up with protein, you really stop being hungry and eating actually becomes a chore. It’s like eating junk makes you want to eat more junk. Once you stop, eating becomes nothing but a necessity. I’ve lost 5lb in two weeks. I really thought I’d have gained as yesterday I ate a little mash, a roast potato and some gravy with my chicken, cabbage and garlic mushrooms. But nope, half a pound lost! :)


Last updated May 02, 2016


Bomb Shell May 02, 2016

Try to imagine your test as just another lesson. I was lucky, my examiner was a really nice lady who was also a biker (this was when I still had my motorbike) and my test was really laid back as we chatted about motorbikes. She really put me at ease and I wasn't at all nervous, almost forgetting I was on my test. Hopefully you'll get someone like that!

Seacláid May 02, 2016

It's a speed limit not a target!

Babe In Toyland Seacláid ⋅ May 02, 2016

Tell my instructor that, lol!

Seacláid May 02, 2016

P.S. I don't do many reverse bay parking now but did one on my test at the test centre and a reverse round a corner. Then my dad taught me motorway driving (it was a given since he taught me to drive as a BSM instructor not being paid by me).

Babe In Toyland Seacláid ⋅ May 02, 2016

My dad is going to take me on the motorway once I pass. :)

Lucretia May 03, 2016

I approached my test with the idea that I was just taking some bloke for a nice drive. It worked for me, but I think it's just getting any positive head-space.

Motorway driving is super easy; way simpler than navigating country roads or suburban areas with major hazards. Only 2% of accidents occur on motorways. You'll find it a total breeze x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.