Birthday Party and Mom Update in In the Meadow

  • April 28, 2016, 10:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been away from here for quite some time. We have had a lot going on. We had a birthday party at a restaurant for my husband’s grandfather. He turned ninety. He is a wonderful man and has had a great life. We all went to Fort Myers Beach for spring break. We had glorious weather and spent a lot of time on the beach. It was a wonderful vacation.

My mom is still living in the nursing home. She has had a series of small strokes, each too small to affect her by themselves but together they are affecting her function. She has been unhappy at the nursing home. It is a great place but she just does not like the idea of having to depend on others. The social worker at the nursing home was talking about moving her to a facility where they care for people with brain injuries. I had spoken with a lady at this place and they sent over mom’s records, but when they talked to mom they thought she wouldn’t be a good candidate for this facility. I have a feeling that they may only take people at this facility who are not truly ill in order to make their results look better. I am worried about my mom because she seems very unhappy at the nursing home. She basically acts agitated a lot and makes a lot of noise. I am concerned that she is stressing out the staff there, even though they are very patient. I have calls in to her doctor and psychiatrist to talk about how we can plan for her long term care. I am concerned because when she first arrived there in August she was calling me and was aware of the time and place. When my husband came to visit her with me he thought that a lot of what she was saying was a reaction to being in an environment with a lot of sick people and was mostly reality-based. That made me feel better.

Timmy and Kayla will be fourteen in less than a month. My babies are growing up. They come with me to see my mom some of the time. She acts much better when they are there. I am glad that she has been able to maintain a relationship with them and has conversations with them. We also phone her sister and brother when we are there so they can talk to her.

So that is where we are at right now. I still have a lot to write about the kids’ activities over the past month.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.