A lot of this and that in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 26, 2016, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve either been too busy or too tired to write so going to try and condense the last few days now. On Saturday O wanted to go across the road and across the fence to investigate a flat bed trailer with “things” on it, such as a bucket or two, a metal barrel, etc to see if he could find something to burn (like we didn’t already have enough). What he did discover were 3 old shovels, a metal scraper with only half a handle, and in his words “a huge yellow and black long snake”. I had to laugh once I knew it wasn’t poison, as I had told him it might not be a good idea to rummage around on the flat bed. I told him after he jumped a mile high, then off the trailer, and sprinted back over the fence and back across the road to the comfort of the yard, that maybe he might listen to me next time. It was hard not to say “I told you so”, but just left it at, “listen”.

I had gotten the fixings for a hot dog roast and marshmallow roast for the boys, although I didn’t get the fixings for smores. I am not fond of smores and have a hard time understanding the frenzy of eating them. I’d just as soon have a roasted (burnt) marshmallow and leave the other stuff for something else. Since Sunday was a little breezier than Saturday, I made a unconventional fire pit. I took an old tire which I had Owen wet with the water hose, then put an old cooker inside it to have a small “pit” for the wood and the tire to be a modified wind break to keep the ambers/coals contained. It work wonderfully and it was a small fire and just the right size for 1 or 2 persons to use without a wild fire risk. O’s Mom came down to join us, by invitation, and even though J and O were the only ones to eat the roasted hotdogs, O had a great time doing the cooking. I did eat a couple of marshmallows and they tasted awesome! I did allow them to put the roasted mellows between graham crackers to keep from getting burned and that was fine. Don’t like the chocolate. A then took O to his ball practice and he appeared back at my door around 8pm all ready for bed.

Monday was a busy day. J and O caught their respective bus to their Monday destination and then I headed to work town. A meeting Monday til 11 in a group that I’d been in for sustainment for the installation and the community that the Workshop now has a stake in to be involved with a Farmer’s Market. It will grow this year and their are more possibilities that a meeting in the afternoon brought to our table. I was so happy that all buy two of our board members were able to attend the Monday afternoon meeting and they were able to meet the man I’ve talked about for the last couple of years and he met our board members. This could be a very positive path for our Workshop employees and we are all very thrilled with this support.

Before the meeting on Monday morning, I stopped by my old workplace to see my employees and meet face to face with the new chief. It was interesting, but I didn’t miss anything related to work. The conversations just made me so happy to not have to dea with the same old crap. I gave the new chief some pointers and information and she can do with it as she chooses. I. Don’t. Care. I don’t have to care and I Do Not!!

Bought the potting soil for succulents and another succelent. I intend to work on planting some containers using the ones I’ve bought, and the ones I already have growing outside and they will probably be part of the Mother’s Day gifts I give to A and Dudette and possibly Ruby. I’m going to fix one for my house too. I even bought a moisture meter yesterday. Reading the package of what needs what, I realize now why several of my indoor plants die. I overwater them.
I found some clearance plants over the last few days at Lowe’s and Walmart. Dill was on a clearance shelf, and I bought it and already have it planted as it looked pretty bad when I brought it home. It revived after planted and watered by the next morning. If my cucumbers all produce, I’ll use the dill for pickles. :)

Seeds that have sprouted over the last 2 or 3 days are:
Zinnias , Zucchini, more grape and cherry tomato seeds, corn, the replanted lettuce, and think that is it, but could have left one or two out. Either way, I’ve got to get containers for the plants ready. They are again, predicting rain and storms that could begin tonight. I’d like to get some of the plants planted today, but if the storms are coming, I may wait until the chance of high winds and hail have passed.

A has a late hair client tonight, so O will come here after school. Need to come up with an idea for supper.

Mickey tried out for Jr High cheerleader and found out yesterday she made the cheerleading squad. I am sure she is in the clouds!!

Ok, I’ve got to change the channel on the TV as Dr Phil’s show has screaming young married couples and the one wife screams all the time and NEVER shuts up!! Time to watch the ID network. At least they mostly kill quietly. lol

Have a wonderful day. God Bless


cardslinger April 26, 2016

Things are finally warming up here so we'll be able to start planting soon but not yet. Sounds like you have been busy! I hear you about not missing work. I loved the last job I had but not the same old problems being discussed!

crystal butterfly April 26, 2016

David has planted stuff. Hoping all the bad storms predicted end up just being nice rains. Congrats to Mickey.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.