Andrew Wyath was never on Monty Python! in My things ……

  • Dec. 29, 2013, 5:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Monty Python star Michael Palin, I worry about opening lines like this entry, the are not my words but they set me wondering if the writer thinks we have forgotten Michael Palin was ever a Python! One of my main memories of my younger years, was discussing the latest Monty Python show in the Golden Cross. So I’ll start anew, Michael Palin no connection to Palin’s in Alaska, was on television tonight with a program about Andrew Wyeth, American painter 1917 – 2009. I knew of him from Alan Bennett’s diaries, he once wrote about two exhibitions of American art, Edward Hopper and Andrew Wyeth.

The program took the viewer to Pennsylvania and Main where Wyeth painted over seventy years, and talk with people who knew him. It was a great introduction to his work, the detail he works into his pictures is quite daunting; especially to an aspiring painter who would like to paint images with detail! He I would say he was a strange man, most of his work is made close to where he lived, you won’t find a Wyeth canvas of the Grand Canal; the local life and countryside around him was his subject. If paintings move you, keep an eye open for ‘Michael Palin in Wyeth's World’ star of Monty Python; no no not Wyeth!

Note, it was the article on the RadioTimes web site that started with the ‘Monty Python’ link, the program was ‘Michael Palin in Wyeth's World’


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.