On the up. in Hello.

  • April 24, 2016, 3:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This new job is a total breath of fresh air in this household. John is evidently really excited about starting! Working in a garden centre will work really well for him, he loves gardening and he’s really good and lovely with people. I can see him being totally in his element. It’s at least a mile to walk too, I know he likes a little space and time to himself, he’s already decided he’s going to take the scenic route along the river and through the park. Susan, the other owner, has said to John she can’t wait for him to start (mainly because she’s fed up of working Sundays, but I know she’s very fussy about who she trusts and makes friends with!)
I’ve also been thinking a bit about moving house. Not sure about buying just yet, but I’m getting a bit fed up of this flat. It’s beautiful, don’t get me wrong, convenient for school, work and the shops and our landlady is the nicest we’ve ever had. But I think I’d like a house with a bit of outside space. I’m not sure if I’m thinking the grass will be greener and I’ll end up regretting it, but it will be so nice to have a garden to sit out in and for the kids to play. This place opens right onto the road, albeit a tiny, quiet one, and the nearest bit of grass to play on is a fairly popular benched area on the other side of the river that fills up as soon as the sun comes out!
I’m also thinking about trying a village. This town is quite small, but is surrounded by beautiful villages. Because I’ll be driving before long, I’m liking the idea of living away from town as you get more property for your money. That would have been tricky when John was working split shifts, but if he’s doing the same hours as me, I could drop him off and pick him up.
So yeah, I definitely think that the universe is handing us a big dose of happy after the shit end to 2015!


Last updated April 24, 2016


Deleted user April 25, 2016

Yay! X

Lucretia April 26, 2016

We've moved to a village and it's AMAZING! So much house for so little money, lovely community, lots of countryside, llamas, wildlife - it's ace! I was worried I'd regret it but it's the best decision ever. Not that I'm trying to colour your judgment, but it's worked for us.

It sounds like John's new job is going to be fantastic.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.