Burn Baby Burn in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 24, 2016, 6:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As you might guess by the title there was burning going on yesterday. Things changed shortly after I posted yesterday’s entry. O arrived at 7:30. At 8 I sent Isaiah’s dad a text to see what time they were coming down. Dude ended up just calling me as they had plans for yesterday since Dude had taken off work and Isaiah wanted to stay with his dad and mom. Can’t blame him and said he could come for his weekend later.
O was anxious to get started with our outside plan but I wanted to get 2 loads of clothes done for J 1st and to let it warm up outside just a bit. I sent my sister a text about 9 to remind her that she and Jack could join in on the burning, but she texted me back and said she was going to clean her bedroom and might be down later. I never heard from her the rest of the day, so it was just O and I. I did lots of raking and he did lots of carrying stuff to one of 3 burn piles. Only 2 of them amounted to much flame and one had a big cedar post that had been a gate post and also porch posts from years ago that I was going to do something with them and never did. It was time to burn them. The cedar post and another huge tree limb still will need to be set up to burn some more as both of them were too big to burn up yesterday.

Not sure that we’ll burn again today so will see what the day bring. I put the one fire (actually embers) out about 2:30 so we could put all of the yard equipment away (O wanted to use one of my push mowers to mow) and he did. He needs practice on straight mowing lines, but I think this was his first time using a push mower. We got everything put away, the fires out, and took showers. He did not want any clothes. The boy that he is. So he didn’t get clothes on the shopping trip. He picked out trading cards, turkey calls, and toy figure thing. Then I bought some cactus potting soil, a new water hose that isn’t suppose to kink, a new spray head for the hose, and a Jade plant. sigh Jade will not survive outside in this area so will use it to make up some indoor planters for whomever. Again sigh. I really need to read up on succulents if that is going to become my new thing. Naw, it won’t. I have seeds sprouting outside and am still waiting for the corn and green bean seeds to make their appearance. Still not sure where I’ll plant the corn when it sprouts, but have an idea where now anyway.

That was our Saturday. Not exciting. We worked hard and got a lot accomplished outside. More to come in the future.

I did learn in bold letters that there is a huge difference between the grands that have siblings, and the one the doesn’t. The one that doesn’t is much more demanding of my time, which is fine, most of the time. Whew I was exhausted last night. But it was a good exhausted.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated April 24, 2016


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 24, 2016

when blake was younger, he demanded and got most of my attention. good exhausted every day til he grew up. he doesn't need me much anymore so, i'm very happy when i do get to see him like last night when he came over with a couple friends to get an onion, he took my 3 tomatoes and the last of my gallon of tea. i love that boy. we can't burn around here now. it's too dry. haven't had much rain lately, the humidity is low and it's been windy. we are having so many more brush fires than i can remember in any spring. spring is usually quite rainy here but, not this year. can't even have any sort of open fire til we get rain. maybe after the rain on tuesday that's supposed to be here. take care,

GypsyWynd April 24, 2016

My ex was an only child. Even as an adult he demanded a lot of time and attention.

seafarer April 25, 2016

you are such a good grandmother!
my mom told me last week that she is going to come over and work in my flowerbeds... she is almost 85 and can still bend and squat and me, sheesh, I can barely move some days and other than mowing, yard work isn't happening if I have to do it!

crystal butterfly April 25, 2016

I have no "only" grands, but the one that I have that is in the middle seems to be the most demanding for attention.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.