The weekend-Saturday AM in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 23, 2016, 7:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Woke up before 5am. Was going to go back to bed but didn’t. Instead made a pot of coffee and went outside to check the temp and it is cool but not cold this morning. Watched a pair of adult rabbits eating clover in front of the shop building. I didn’t have the porch light on and just sat in the still of the early morning watching the rabbits. Heard a noise to my right and decided to turn on the light. It was Polka Dot snoring. The porch light didn’t disturb the dog or the rabbits so continued watching the rabbits. As I sit in the stillness of the early morning I think. Think about so many of my blessings at this time in my life. Think about just nothing. Then I wondered what time Dude will get here with Isaiah this morning as I know O will be dropped off sometime between 8 and 9. I will call my sister later in the morning to see if she is bringing Jack to join the boys on today’s activities of gathering limbs and small branches and then burning. We didn’t receive hardly any rain that was in the forecast for the week, so will get the water hoses out and hooked up to a couple of outside faucets just in case we need them. Will do that before we get started doing any burning. One of the areas that I would have liked to burn will not happen today. It is just too close to the fence and just across the fence is a hillside that I can’t take the chance of the fire jumping over to. It would not be a fire I could control with or without help. I am sure they will have plenty to burn and keep a fire going.

I cleaned house yesterday between going in and out and checking on my seeds and doing some transplanting of some of the succulents to include hen and chicks. I think I’m going to get some cactus/succulent potting mix and some sand to make up some small dishes. If I find a container I really really like for indoors I would like to make one for inside. Hopefully I won’t kill them but I have a single hen and chick in a very small clay pot and so far I haven’t killed it. lol

One of my flannel nighties arrived. WooHoo. And no I haven’t thrown the most ragged one away yet, but will when I see it. Not sure where I put it but may put it in my dresser drawer. Who knows, I may use some of it to use to clean my guns. ;)

Planted more lettuce seed yesterday afternoon since the seed I’d planted in one of the hanging pots didn’t sprout. Too old I guess.

J’s case worker had an appointment to come down yesterday afternoon and she did, but not sure we spent over 10 minutes talking about him. I told her about the chair and even showed it to her. She was impressed and has no power to speed up the medicaid approval process for the appointment for the breathing mask. Bummer.

Met with my friend on Thursday afternoon. Please keep her in your prayers. Her “retirement” was forced and even though the reason was unfounded she isn’t going back. I tried hard to encourage her about retirement, but her circumstances makes it a bit more difficult. I decided to retire, she was made to retire. She is very spiritual and has so much faith, yet, it is hard. She knows God is good and believes this is for the best, yet the circumstances weren’t pleasant. We talked about how God “forces” us to do things He wants us to do and even though we don’t understand during the time, eventually we understand. It is that “current” that is difficult as we never know when we’re going to “get it” and understand.

Life is scary and sometimes more scary than others times. We all seem to deal with life’s ups and downs and how we decide to deal with those, usually determines the next phase of our lives. There were so many times in my early years that I just wanted to give up. I was tired and confused and so depressed. I couldn’t imagine my life getting any better and several times during my early journey was pretty sure I was going to die. By the Grace of God, He kept me alive, and my Faith got me through. It will continue to do so until my time on earth is finished. I know there are many who do not believe as I do, nor have any belief in a higher power. My prayer is that each person has a relationship with Jesus. This is an individual choice and once made, does not mean your life becomes roses and blossoms. It means you have someone who died for you and loves you no matter what.

Not sure why I went there, other than it has been my rock throughout my life. Without that promise there would have been hopelessness and I’m absolutely sure death.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated April 23, 2016


GypsyWynd April 23, 2016

I was up and out at 6am with Nougat, but we went back to bed till 8.

Deleted user April 23, 2016

I will be praying about J getting his breathing mask. I feel sorry for your friend. Life can sometimes more than we can deal with except for the promise He has given us. :-)

crystal butterfly April 23, 2016

I hope Medicaid get the mask for J faster than it appears they seem to be going.

seafarer April 25, 2016

I know God has looked after me constantly or else I wouldn't be here today....
I miss you, friend!! Sure wish I was able to come this summer.. I'm still not giving up home, but my dr says no, even yet... blah! Your home is so peaceful and cheery, as are you!!!

seafarer April 25, 2016

edit ^^^ not giving up hope! (not home!!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.