On My High Horse in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • April 19, 2016, 11:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a situation on the way home from work tonight. I stopped in Humble for a soda and gas, and the police were there arresting a young man for DWI. Naturally, I have no problem with this because he should not have been drinking and driving. What I had an issue with was his mother and the way others were reacting to her. She was there, begging officers not to arrest her son, which they were going to do whatever her feelings. The store clerk and customers were of the opinion that she should just let it be, let her son be arrested and just “let it go”. They had no sympathy for her feelings. Now, I may be wrong, I frequently am, but I disagree.
A parent should NEVER be expected to give up on their children, or not do all that they can to protect them.
As a parent, I made a conscious decision to be a father, more so than most. Part of that decision is that I would love my children no matter what. It doesn’t matter what decisions they make in life, I am their father and I will love them whether I agree with those decisions or not, whether I am ashamed or appalled or not. They are my children. I will love them, and pray for them, and they will know this; no matter what.,
I remember vividly when Jeffery Dahmer died in prison; his mother’s statement was, “I hope you’re all satisfied”.
It impacted me, because even though he was one of the most horrific serial killers of modern times, she was his mother. I’m sure she was horrified by his actions, but she was still his mother and she loved him.
Love is a choice; one you make, not something you turn on and off at will or for the convenience of others.
Having lost my son and daughter in law to a drunk driver, and living through the never-ending aftermath, I have little sympathy for this young man, as I have none for the young man who took my son. However, his mother is not responsible, and requiring someone to stop loving their child is reprehensible to me.
It doesn’t matter what life brings, or what mistakes my children make, they are still my children. I will love and pray for them every day of life I have remaining.
I don’t understand a world which doesn’t get that fact. If you could let your own children go so easily, to write them off for any reason; then in my book, you never truly loved them at all. What hope do future generations have if society just expects parents, of all people, to give up on their children? Tough love I get; I’ve been there myself, but never in my wildest imaginings could I give up completely and shut that love off.
Sorry, I know this was a bit long and a lot of rant, but it rankles me.
I can’t imagine a world where the parent is expected to just give up. What does that say about us as a society?


I need tea. April 19, 2016

NeonLady April 20, 2016

Asking the woman to calm down and not cause a scene does not mean they're asking her not to love him. As you stated, they were going to arrest her son no matter how she felt - and her screaming and causing a scene was only making things worse. At that point there was nothing more she could do to protect her son. And if her actions somehow had caused the officers to decide not to arrest him, I believe that would only have harmed him in the long run. I will absolutely always love my children but if my son was caught DWI, there's no way I would tell the officers not to arrest him. You know more than anyone what that decision can do - and mild consequences for something like DWI only increase the chance of a repeat offense. Would I cry if I saw my son being arrested? Very likely yes. But I would not want to stop the process - because I love my son, not because I don't.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.