Hello from the other side in One day at a time

  • April 19, 2016, 1:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gosh you know it has been a while since you updated when you have to go back and re-read your last entry to figure out what was going on.

I’m pleased to report that my kitchen is now done. Completely. And it looks fabulous. The counter tops that I stressed over are beautiful. Last weekend my friend’s husband and I put the tiles up (white subway). I love it. All the white has really lightened up the house too – it’s all one open area, kitchen and lounge. Next on the list is the bathroom freshen up. Hopefully that will go just as smoothly. I feel really motivated as I am sure I am increasing the value of my wee place (whilst making it a nicer place to come home to).

I had a bit of health scare, I woke up in the middle of the night in agony (stomach). I was up for about two hours, was very ill (that’s all you need to know about that), then felt okay and went back to sleep. That was on a Thursday and then it happened again on the Sunday night. So I was pretty sure it wasn’t food poisoning. I saw the Dr on the Monday and it’s possible it could be gall bladder issues. I will know more after I have an ultrasound this Friday. I have been really careful about what I have been eating and am noticing a huge difference. My sugar consumption was spiralling out of control, and I have cut that right back. I just feel better all over (apart from the sugar cravings). I’m hoping it was just a warning shot from my body and not something a whole lot more complicated. At the moment I’m doing a Scarlett O’Hara and worrying about it tomorrow. I have only told one friend (who just had her gallbladder removed), as I don’t want to be drowning in a sea of good advise (albeit well meaning). BTW even though the Ultrasound was deemed “urgent” I have still had to wait nearly 3 weeks for it. Must be terrifying for people who are suspected of having a serious illness. It’s partially Government funded, but no doubt I was still have to pay something.

We are having a beautiful autumn. Y’all know I am very much a summer person but this is just amazing. Warm, calm days (we normally get a lot of wind here). I sat on the waterfront today and ate lunch (salad). Just lovely. Normally I am in boots and woolly coat by this time of the year.

Speaking of warmth, I just got accepted on a work trip to Honolulu in early June . It will be death by a million hotel inspections, but Aloha! I’m already plotting how to get stuff from my favourite US stores shipped to my hotel there. Research shows me there is a Macy’s and Old Navy on the island, as well as Target and Ross’s Dress for Less (don’t judge), so I am happy camper (or more likely a happy 4 to 5 star hotel-er).

So I hesitate to say it (Jinx), but life is okay at the moment.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.