I Am Your Leader in Site Updates

  • April 18, 2016, 6:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dear Prosebox Friends and Family,

After much deliberation over my cup of coffee this morning, I have decided that my former moniker simple mind does not really convey the strength of character needed to run a site which has been chugging along for nearly three years now.

I am the Face of Prosebox, and as such I need a name that the citizens can rally behind. I briefly considered The Prose Master, but something similar has been done before, and frankly it did not end well.

And so I march forward, proudly waving the Prosey McProseface banner. Here’s hoping that the site will continue to chug forward smoothly, just like an expensive research vessel. And maybe, just maybe, the name Prosey McProseface will be penned into the history pages alongside such greats as Pope Francis, Angela Merkel, and Bono.

UPDATE:

Haha, just kidding. Let’s try this name instead.


Last updated April 19, 2016


simple mind April 18, 2016

Also, you may now call me "The PM" for short.

•kitkat• April 18, 2016

Woo! Glad for clearing that up. I saw I had a bookmark who updated and I saw this name thinking, "What the hell?"

I think it's a grand name!

simple mind •kitkat• ⋅ April 18, 2016

Why thank you! :D

PepperGrape •kitkat• ⋅ April 18, 2016

ME TOO!

•kitkat• PepperGrape ⋅ April 18, 2016

I'm glad I wasn't the only one! lol

Echo April 18, 2016

:)

simple mind April 18, 2016

I also go by Mickey P.

Jigger simple mind ⋅ April 18, 2016

Nice.

One Angry Dwarf April 18, 2016

Omg.

IT'S LIKE I NAMED YOU.

simple mind One Angry Dwarf ⋅ April 18, 2016

Mom??

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ April 18, 2016

LOL!

Etoile Filante simple mind ⋅ April 19, 2016

Haha! xXx

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 18, 2016

you watched the news and saw boaty mcboatface, didn't you?!!!! take care,

simple mind Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ April 18, 2016

Yep, I actually linked to that article. :)

Deleted user April 18, 2016

:-)

NeonLady April 18, 2016

I love it! Onward, PM!

Cat Mommy April 18, 2016

Is you high?

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ April 18, 2016

Nope, it's all-natural neurosis. ;)

Mum of Yum April 18, 2016

applauds

dickson. April 18, 2016

HAHAHAHA

Deleted user April 18, 2016

:)

Deleted user April 18, 2016

Welcome to the world of Mc's. I'm a Mc (muck) too.

TellTaleHeart April 18, 2016

It's... It's... perfect.

Teflon Superhero April 18, 2016

LMAO! as soon as I saw the name, I was like "oh! Because Boaty McBoatface!". Glad to see that it's right! xD

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ April 18, 2016

Yep :)

Teflon Superhero simple mind ⋅ April 18, 2016

I can't wait until it hits the news "What is this wild new sensation hitting the waves of social media? With the naming of Boaty McBoatface, many people are changing their own monikers to variations, including the owner of Prosebox, who is now Prosey McProseface. Analysts believe this is just a simple fad trend that seems to happen, but the government is warning of any further steps by those who would see to take the joke a bit further, perhaps, by changing their names legally.
'We don't need 100 applications for name changes of Douchey McDoucheberg, You will be wasting the court's time and your own money.' Says a county clerk that wished to remain anonymous when asked for a statement.
This is not the first time an 'unusual' name started a trend in the United States. Some people might recall the popular series of Friends when Phoebe changed her name to "Princess Consuela Bananahammock", which prompted her boyfriend to nearly change his name to "Crap Bag"
'We don't want this' commented the clerk, 'This is something we are trying to avoid. It may seem fun and endearing on the internet, but it is not something you want associated with you for the rest of your life, believe me.'
Later tonight, we explore the world of naming and why people tend to drift towards the unique, creative, and sometimes downright bizarre on our special piece, "Call me hotcakes." Back to you, Jim!"

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ April 18, 2016

Can we get that on the news? Front page of Reddit maybe? Prosebox could use some free advertising. :D

Teflon Superhero simple mind ⋅ April 18, 2016

I love Reddit, but Reddit likes to downvote me into oblivion any time I comment, soooo...if there's any Karma-whores on Prosebox who know the secrets of Reddit, FEEL FREE TO CROSS POST LOL

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ April 18, 2016

As much as I love Reddit, the community is often a bunch of cranky haters. Ironically the most points I've ever earned on a comment was replying to a comment containing song lyrics, with additional lyrics to that song. Meanwhile, any comments I left that took some actual creativity and thought went largely ignored.

Teflon Superhero simple mind ⋅ April 18, 2016

That's why I just lurk now. Any actual creativity or an actual response gets me flamed to oblivion.

And I'm not desperate enough yet to post a dickbutt, so ...I'm scrwed :'(

middle age pearl April 18, 2016

Simple Mind did not do you justice, so am glad you picked a much more reflective signature name. Although I believe you are simple like a fox.

simple mind middle age pearl ⋅ April 18, 2016

Heh, thanks.

james ensor April 18, 2016

Prosemaster before Hoesmaster.

simple mind james ensor ⋅ April 18, 2016

But is it "hoes"? That looks like multiple garden implements. But "hos" looks even stranger.

bobbi01 April 18, 2016

Awesome! and so glad it is Prosey, not Posey!!

rubix cube April 18, 2016

<3

Deleted user April 18, 2016

More catchy than Mr McMuffin. :-)

Leanne 🌈 April 18, 2016

Loving it :) Rock on.

Rhapsody in Purple April 18, 2016

Love the new name!

cricket_factor April 19, 2016

Glad it's you in charge here, no matter what name you call yourself.

Reading_Blankie 📚 April 19, 2016

you must've put some Baileys in your coffee. hahaha.
This made me giggle and I thought about McBoatface, too.
hahaha.

Kate April 19, 2016

Maybe you should have held a contest.

simple mind Kate ⋅ April 19, 2016

I suppose for those who really miss OD, I could have a logo contest and then never pick a winner. ;-)

Naiad April 19, 2016

I like it. It's dignified. :)

Deleted user April 19, 2016

Just as long as you don't make promises of upgrades that never come! Sorry, but I did get sick of that. :) I think you are doing a fine job of "chugging along." If I didn't love PB as it is I never would've been turned onto it in the first place. :) It's a very reliable and easy to use site. It lacks a few features I'd like, yes, but they're not a necessity.

Bomb Shell April 19, 2016

The Boaty McBoatface story makes me so proud to be British.

caramelchicken April 19, 2016

LOL thanks for all your hard work PM, if we didn't have this site I think there'd be a lot more people in the mental asylum!

Deleted user April 19, 2016

Wrennie April 19, 2016

This is really wonderful.

TechnoKitten April 19, 2016

Great name Mr. PM :)

Krud April 19, 2016

You've finally arrived!

Firebabe April 20, 2016

Ferret Mom April 20, 2016

Ha ha! Love it!
Truly, I am just so thankful that this site exists. Keep up the good work.

Newzlady April 20, 2016

I was thinking Prosemeister.

Cobalt April 20, 2016

'Twould be nice if your name were Zachary.
Then you could have gone with Prose Zack.
(Which reminds me. Must take meds.)

BaybNJoe April 20, 2016

I liked Simple Mind. It didn't really make you "simple", it just showed humanity and humility. But, Prose Minister is fun. Enjoy it! :)

simple mind BaybNJoe ⋅ April 20, 2016

Why thank you. Yeah, I still like it. Felt like mixing things up a bit but it will always be my favorite. :)

Deleted user April 20, 2016

Help! Dunno where else to ask this, but I use Safari and Firefox. Well, in Safari I can access this site just fine, but in FF I get: Access Denied
Sorry, you're not supposed to see this page.
What's that all about???

Deleted user April 20, 2016

Ok, I just got in via FF by logging out, then back in. Still, that was strange.

Nash April 20, 2016

Would a Prose by any other name smell as sweet?

Soul Karma April 20, 2016

M'Lord. LOL! It's still fitting!

Everything Good Rebecca April 23, 2016

I've taken a small break from writing and much reading, but trusted this site would stay in place. I did find comort in the name "simple mind" but because I tend to only use the site late at night, I like the initials PM quite a bit. I do think The Prose Minister feels right (without seeming churchy at all). I kept thinking a prose by any other name but realized as long as the word "prose" is in it, I love it. Whatever, please keep doing what works so well! You are simply appreciated and we don't mind your name change as long as we still get your wit!

Krud April 23, 2016

I was hoping for Beezow Doo Doo Zopittybop-bop-bop Jr.

Narrator April 23, 2016

Has it been three years already? Thanks for setting this up, and for maintaining it. I really appreciate the effort you put into this - and I bet 99% of that is invisible to the user, passing unremarked. You crafted the lifeboat for all of us, and I'm sorry for anything less than gracious I've said about it. You're the PM, truly.

M April 25, 2016

Sir, yes sir.

Dirty Numb Angelboy April 25, 2016

Do you like The X Files? Because I randomly thought of Box Mulder.

simple mind Dirty Numb Angelboy ⋅ April 25, 2016

I used to watch it every now and then (the old episodes) but I've thought about going back and watching all of it, and then the new episodes.

Deleted user April 27, 2016

Hahahahaha good name :)

Maui Jim April 28, 2016

Aloha...
Even though you are the administrator of Prosebox... and do your best to minister to this site... I fail to see where you came up with the name of: The Prose Minister... (island humor)

simple mind Maui Jim ⋅ April 28, 2016

It's a play on "The PM", aka The Prime Minister. No religious implications intended. :)

Maui Jim simple mind ⋅ April 29, 2016

Aloha...
Whatever the reason... I think this is a wonderful place... and that you continue to do a great job...! (smiles)

shneaker June 17, 2016

Simple mind works well. Better to put yourself down and beat other to the punch. Lol

Johnny Carcinogen June 18, 2016

Three years. Good God.

martian princess June 18, 2016

Deleted user July 06, 2016

Thanks for keeping prosebox going, it is much appreciated!

=bernard= July 19, 2016

Okay, so is it Boaty Mcboatface or PM? Please I'm 68 I'm suppose to be enjoying my golden years, I can't this kind of meshuganess anymore.

simple mind =bernard= ⋅ July 20, 2016

Call me what you like, just don't call me late for dinner. And now that I have it all out of my system... "simple mind" will be just fine. :)

Stormstryder July 23, 2016

Hi I'm new here, a former writer in the land of OD, whilst devastated that I missed any and all warnings about it's closure, thus loosing everything I wrote over the years, it is the friends I made on there and lost that hurt the most. But it is nice to see that the community has come back. As for your name ... why not just call yourself "The Pro of Prose" or maybe just "The Pro" for short :)

simple mind Stormstryder ⋅ July 24, 2016

Welcome!

Ducky's RaRa August 27, 2016

Greetings, Leader! I am your servant. No, not really. I am a semi-new user ( I was here before after the Great OD Debacle, but I stopped using my account in favor of doing the handwritten, allow me to decorate with washi tape, doodle my doodles, glue mementos in and all that other happy horsesh...you get it).

I know we are able to block people and not unblock them. That's all peachy and stuff. But what I was wondering if there was a way a diarist can be the only one who sees the people who follow or friend - including the ones with the option to hide themselves? Or if the hide yourself from lists can be removed? I have a reason for this.

Stalking.

I'm not talking about your general, oh you're not my friend anymore but I'm going to stalk you on your diary and keep up with absolutely everything you are doing kind of stalking, though that is rather disturbing to know people do such a thing. I'm talking about the legitimate lunatics who follow or friend a diarist, but hide themselves from any list and then piece together any little tidbit a diarist might let slip so eventually the freakazoid can find them and possibly hurt them.

It is possible to go private, I understand, but for those who have already made some decent friends here and don't want to lose them by only writing privately and not being able to connect with them or the diary community because the whole diary is private, would it not be prudent to allow only the diarist to see who has added as a "Friend," and who might be stalking through adding a "Follow?"

It's slightly disturbing to think of lunatics out there, legitimate lunatics and not people who have a moment or two of crazy because... life, and yeah, even former friends making new accounts and stalking that way.

Despite my somewhat convoluted question, do you know what I mean?

Ducky's RaRa August 27, 2016

As an addendum to my previous comment, which I realized I didn't say, that was in regards to people who "Friend" or "Follow" but who are hidden from any lists.

Thanks!

Your humble serv... nah, can't do it.
The Author

Deleted user October 17, 2016

I like Prosy McProseface. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.