Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Down. in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • April 18, 2016, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Old school I know, but I still love the Carpenters music. If any of you have been watching weather stations, you already know it’s wet in Southeast Texas.
I awoke last night to the sound of thunder (sorry, couldn’t resist) and got up this morning to massive flooding. We received almost 20 inches of rain during the night according to news reports. A few inches of that decided to make a jaunt throughout the house. As of this moment, the floors are dry, but we have a pump working steadily to keep it down. If the rains keeps up, well who knows?
Called work and told them all the roads into my neighborhood are closed due to the flooding and they won’t let anyone through. Their answer? “Well, you have to get here”.
I guess I’ll just break out the kayak and start paddling now. I don’t have to be there until 1:30pm, and it’s only 35 miles or so…surely I can do that, lol.
I light of some of the things going on in my life, missing a day or two of work is certainly not a stress factor for me.
On another note; the custody case is looking better. I have been doing deep background checks on the maternal grandmother and her husband, and just got criminal records in on him from out of state. He has two counts of aggravated kidnapping and aggravated assault with a deadly weapon (gun) as well as a couple of other stints in prison for drugs (use, manufacture, and sale of). I can’t imagine them obtaining custody now.
We shall see.
Anyway, other than wet, all is well at the moment. Hope you are all having a good start to your week. Take care.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.