Recap of oldest's time & other dribble in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 18, 2016, 7:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a great time with Mickey! This was originally done for the grands, but my oh my what a reverse I’m seeing happen. Not a total reverse, as they have enjoyed this one on one time too. I’ve enjoyed it more than I expected and I’ve realized I’ve missed out on some quality time with the grand kids. Now, with that realization, I do acknowledge that I couldn’t have done this while I was still working and trying to get things done that HAD to get done before the work week began again. I get that! My nerves wouldn’t haven’t handled it at all. I’m AGAIN, so thankful I retired.

Next weekend the grandson’s will be here and it is actually the youngest’s time (Isaiah) but he wants O to join him and that is fine. If O wants a weekend one on one without his cousin the next weekend, we can do that one too. I want them to have quality and a good time on their time here. O does have more one on one time with me, and he is an only child and he lives just up the hill from me. He pops down here a couple of times a week and normally it is to use my laptop. Now that the weather is getting warmer, he is anxious to do things outside. So next weekend, it will be an outside time as long as weather permits. Not sure they will want to go shopping for clothes, but we can and they will be taken out to eat at Isaiah’s choice of place. Nothing in stone, just what Isaiah chooses since it is “his” time.

Mickey wore her new outfit this morning and yesterday she asked me to Fish braid her hair. Fish Braid? I had no clue what she was talking about and for sure didn’t know the how. She kept telling me how easy it was. lol I had her pull an instruction You Tube video up on my laptop, and by golly an old dog can learn new tricks. Mickey’s hair is long and super thick but I finally got the hang of it. I told her it may be easier if it was wet, so this morning she took her shower and I did it again and better than yesterday. I am slow though, but if I get some more practice, I would think I will get faster. I suspect not as thick hair would make it faster, so may try on Raylee’s hair next time she is here. That may be tonight after school since Mickey has cheer leading practice and Isaiah has tutoring. I suppose one of the parents will tell me who is or isn’t riding the bus to my house this afternoon after school. (EDIT:-Isaiah’s tutoring is done for the year so he will be here too)

Took a bit of a break since the last paragraph and have the last load of clothes to wash in the washer now. (EDIT-It wasn’t the last load, but hey no big deal) Dishes are done and LR tidied up although there are a couple of clean things I’ve folded this morning need to be put away. I’m also getting hungry so will eat some breakfast soon. Looked up how much vermiculite to use in my mix for the green bean pots. I believe I’ll use 1 to 4 in the potting soil and 1/2 and 1/2 in the top soil although I do plan to use 1/3 of each to begin with in the mix. 1/3 top soil, 1/3 potting mix and 1/3 vermiculite. I’ll add a bit of miracle grow mix and plant. Dude is here with two more bags of potting soil. Be back later.

Ok I’m back. Eating some breakfast/lunch since it is almost 11. When I’m finished eating my eggs, sausage links and toast I will then begin planting the green beans. Dude unloaded the two bags of potting soil and I already have some on the front porch to use for mixing. Supposed to start raining this afternoon so rain will be good and have the containers where I can leave them and bring them in if we do have another freeze or frost. Getting excited about growing some bush green beans in a tub. Once the plants get started and strong I will transplant them into one or two tubs. Then wait for the harvest!

Will end this now so I can get my tummy to stop growling and then proceed with planting. Take care and God Bless.


Last updated April 18, 2016


aunty EM April 19, 2016

What a great idea--one on one time with each grandchild.

crystal butterfly April 19, 2016

Never heard of fish braiding. Used to French braid my daughters.

static April 25, 2016

My mom always said that being a grandparent was the best. My kids always loved time with her. I am so glad you have the time now and are able to enjoy spending more time with them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.