Charles Bradley and a big purchase in Diary

  • April 17, 2016, 3:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Me and Jay went to Bristol on Friday night to see Charles Bradley, a soul singer he wanted to see. He booked us a hotel and we went straight after work. The show was good, Charles Bradley has a great voice. He went off stage partway through and came back in an outfit that looked like shiny pyjamas and a dressing gown, lol. He reminded me of the Cat from Red Dwarf, with his outfit and the way he was dancing.

Before the show, I went to the bar to get us drinks. Coming back, I walked down a few steps but one of them must have been wet because, next thing I knew, my feet slipped out from under me and I landed on my bum. I still had hold of the drinks, which I was impressed by, but I have a cut on my leg above my ankle, a big bruise on my thigh and I was covered in beer. I had spilt about 1/3 from each pint and it was all over me. I was not impressed.

After the show, we found a couple of cool bars playing rock music. One had a band upstairs, when we went up, it was a tiny room with less than 20 people in there and they were all obviously the band’s friends and families as they were all singing along to their songs about space dwarves and wizards. In another bar, Jay made a friend. I have no idea who the bloke was or what they were talking about, but he ended up adding Jay on Facebook. The guy will probably wake up the next morning and wonder who he is! There was a bloke sitting opposite us on our table and he was picking up abandoned drinks and downing them; a glass of white wine, a glass of vodka and Coke, the ends of a pint of lager. It was quite disgusting. I turned my back on him, Jay was facing him and said he was being sick. We finished our drinks quickly and left.

Jay hadn’t had any dinner so was trying to find a takeaway or something. But at 12:30am, all the pubs, bars and takeaways seemed to be closed. I don’t know if we were in the wrong area or what but it was deserted. So we went back to the hotel and he got a bag of Haribo, a bag of crisps and a KitKat. Lovely nutritious meal…

Bristol seems like an eventful night out!

I went out looking at cars again yesterday. Rather than wandering around loads of random dealers who each had one or two cars that I might like, I just went to the Vauxhall dealer. I was considering getting a Vauxhall anyway and I’d looked at their website and they had a few within my price range, so I went down to have a look.I figured it would be easier just going to one place who would have quite a few that took my interest. To me, a car is a piece of machinery, much like a washing machine or a vacuum cleaner. I don’t care how pretty it is, what colour it is etc. I don’t invest any emotion into my vehicle or give it a name or anything like that. So as long as it’s mechanically sound, reliable, doesn’t cost the Earth to run and gets me through my journey without falling apart, I’m happy.

So I bought this.

It’s the most I’ve ever spent on a car so I’m hoping it’ll last me a while. It’ll be strange going from an estate back to a hatchback, I really like having a big boot space. It’s been useful on the odd occasion I have to have a dog in there, or when we bought a new washing machine. But these instances have been few and far between. Most of the time it’s just me, going up and down the motorway on the way to and from work, so I need to think about running costs. So a smaller car is fine for me.

It still has five doors, I didn’t really want to go back to three doors, it’s awkward getting things in and out of the back. Especially if we do end up with a tiny person to put in there ;o)

What’s exciting for me is that it has heated seats and a heated steering wheel! I’m a reptile and can’t control my own temperature. In the winter, my hands get so cold that they turn numb, so a heated steering wheel is going to be a life saver.

I’m picking it up sometime next week, I need to arrange having some time off work. I can’t wait.


Camdengirl April 17, 2016

Good purchase!

wintergrey April 17, 2016

Looks great! I love my heated seats, would never buy another car without! I don't have a heated steering wheel, but that would be so neat. I totally get overly emotional and attached to my cars. When I broke my old Mini, it took me two weeks before I could even seriously look at a new one and I had a "mourning period" of three months while I waited for its replacement. Husband thinks I'm crazy...

mutedexposure April 17, 2016

that car is beautiful and has low miles. Seems like a great deal!

Deleted user April 18, 2016

What a lovely car! Xxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.