Sunday morning update of Sat in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 17, 2016, 7:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thank you for your concern and prayers and advice. Thankfully I woke up yesterday morning feeling much better! MUCH More better.

Dudette and kids arrived around 9:30 and the cattle were already mostly in the barn lot. By the time the vet arrived they were all in the barn lot and the other help had arrived except Dude, who was on his way here. The kids (there were 6 of them) were excellent and didn’t fight or make a lot of noise during the process which is a very good thing. Of course, the rule was, if any of them did, they would have to go to my house as stampedes, and wild cows are dangerous. We have about 4 cows with horns and they will make everyone get serious. They don’t mean to be dangerous in most situations, but up close and them slinging those pointed horns make a believer out everyone that the situation could get deadly if provoked or caution isn’t used.

After the working was completed and everything put back and put up departures of the attendants began. I, and my family, just walked across the road to the house, and the others loaded up in their vehicles or on their 4 wheelers to return doing other things.

My ex BIL had O with them who has the nephew of mine that O spends time with a lot and they were going out to eat. Brother’s birthday was yesterday so not sure what they were going to do, but he also sliced off the tip of his thumb trying to remove an ear tag from one of the horned cows. It needed more than the 1st aid kit provided so he and my SIL had gone back to their house to sanitize it and to wrap it up properly to stop the bleeding. Dude had arrived by the time that happened so he took over tagging or replacing tags with no more accidents. And for those who wonder, the tags have a number and are colored. We used yellow and green numbered tags. Yellow for the cows and heifers, green for the steers. My job is too annotate what they receive during their time with the vet. The cows get a wormer and fly repellent, and two other things. While the calves get a few more. Calves have 3 shots all together, and if it is a bull calf, they get an additional procedure to make them into steers.

After Dude took a shower and cleaned up, he and Dudette went for a date afternoon and they also went to Lowe’s and while there they picked up some potting soil and top soil. He is going to get me two more bags of potting soil on Monday cause he didn’t remember that I wanted 2 and 2. The top soil comes in 1 cu ft bags and I wanted to get 2 cu ft of potting soil and then I’ll mix it before using it. He only got 1 bag of the potting soil and 2 bags of the top soil AND the potting soil was on sale so he will get me 2 more bags on Monday if the sale is still on and probably even if it isn’t.

After they got back and dropped off the dirt, and 2 of their 3 kids, Mickey and I had our time of shopping and eating out. She wasn’t too keen on the shopping idea, but I took her into a store and let her look. I told her if she didn’t find anything she liked that, that was fine. Well guess what? She found some things and she left with a big smile on her face. Then we went to eat where she could have whatever she wanted. She wants fish sticks (blah) and mac and cheese for supper tonight so after we ate, I went by the store and picked up some fish sticks.

She ended up sleeping in my bed last night and she snores…and kicks....and lays close to you so I ended up getting on the sofa. I did finally get some sleep but it was difficult as J had his TV up. I finally got up and went in and turned it down. Geeze. What it takes around here to get rest. lol

I will wake her up about 8:30 and we’ll go to SS and church and then not sure what the afternoon will bring. I soaked some green bean seeds overnight so I may plant them in the little starter pots and maybe some other flowers seeds too.

So thankfully I am able to march on and still may see the doctor on Tuesday if I’m thinking it could be bad again. I also suspect it may be a tooth or gum issue, so will also schedule a dentist appointment.

Going to end this for this morning. Take care and God Bless


~Harmonie~ April 17, 2016

Glad you are feeling better!! Hugs,M

crystal butterfly April 19, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.