* Days of Future Past * in Just Stuff

  • April 15, 2016, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No “cheating” now- Without looking, picture in your mind all the details
you can remember about the scene directly behind you that you would see if
you had eyes in the back of your head. Get as clear a picture as possible.
Now, turn and look.

Ask yourself,
When I think that something is “locked in” and completely understood by me,
am I ignoring the utter detail and complexity of the “real” situation?

What do I have to do to take my “hard lines” and my “standards” and my “positions” and “turn around” and re-examine them? What would the payoff be
for having done so?

Is life much richer than we ever remember it to have been?

Is the present moment filled with details that no memory or imagination can
equal?

Does any remembered or imagined experience match the exquisitely detailed
experience I am now having?

What is the long term payoff if I become more appreciative of my “now”
experiences?

Why do I bother to have a memory at all? What is the reason I cling to it?
What value does a childhood memory have for me compared to the experiences I
having right now? What is the deepest psychological need that I have that
is being fulfilled by having memories available to me?

How is my imagination of what is going to happen today or tomorrow or in
the future like having thoughts of the past? What is more detailed, distant
memories or imagined futures?

When I think about my past experiences, what is more valuable to me–the
negativity, the positive, or the simple fact that “I had them?”

Who gets to “have” my experiences tomorrow? Me? Or the future me?

Why do I care about the future “me’s” experiences?

Regards,
Rick


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.