I used to be smart in Safety Net

Revised: 04/15/2016 5:15 p.m.

  • April 14, 2016, 5 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I wonder where my brain ran off to. Then I remember it was kidnapped by my migraine meds and is being held for ransom.

My lack of intelligence these days scares me sometimes. I have three cops that come in to the gas station pretty regularly. Two of the three are K9 handlers. I actually provided one with some information (and access to our cameras) not long after I started and he informed me a few days later that it led to a pretty substantial bust. The other K9 cop is extremely good looking, and he’s really nice and I have fun joking around with him. His best friend is the third cop. He’s in all the time. I’ve nicknamed him the interrogator because he’s the only one if the three who’s name I don’t know, but he likes to question my shady customers. He always points out the druggies to me and asks me all kinds of questions about people. We also like to bull shit with each other. So he was asking me about a group of guys that were in the store tonight that he has apparently been having issues with. I told them they’re regulars and they’d been in several times already tonight. He asked me a few more questions, said he’d be back tomorrow and asked if I could try to get some more information out of them. I said no problem, he bought his stuff, and then he started telling me what kinds of problems he’s been having with them. So then he wanted to know what they’ve been buying. All three of them know I’ll help them out with the druggies no questions asked (although they don’t know why…I have a feeling that question is coming, especially now). And then he asked me, “Have you smelled marijuana on them? I guess first I should ask if you know what it smells like.” Without even thinking I said, “Yeah I know what it smells like. I didn’t smell it tonight, but I have in the past.” He didn’t say anything, he just chuckled and gave me this look like “WTF?! Did you seriously just tell a cop you know what marijuana smells like?” It didn’t register until he left of course. So I’ll have to say something tomorrow. Try to make a joke out of it or something. I feel really stupid right now. I know it’s a classic topamax moment, but really. Apparently I’ve completely forgotten how to think before I speak.


Last updated April 15, 2016


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.