Ahhhhh in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 12, 2016, 8:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was wonderful sleeping on a decent mattress. I did get up 3 or 4 times to go to the bathroom but the little 5” stool got me back in it ok. I did locate another step that I had out in the garage. I dug it out and tried it out as it is just a bit taller and it’s also bigger. The only issue for me is that it is metal and since my feet are what gets cold, I’m making a cover for it and use a drawstring to keep it from slipping. I am going to ask the furniture store if they would give me a step. Can’t hurt to ask.
The top of the bed now comes to my waist. Not high waist level but belly button level. I believe it will be fine and since so many have talked about using a step for their bed, then I guess I haven’t gotten too tall. However, I do have concerns if I have health issues, such as breaking a leg (God forbid) or hip problems if I’ll still be able to get in my bed. I guess I’ll think positive and not worry about what hasn’t happened and if it does happen, I see there are things you can purchase to assist. Oh the joys of being short, fat, and aging.

My ex brother in law will be at A’s trailer today to replace her kitchen flooring. Polka Dot (big dog) doesn’t like him so he is already tied up this morning. He and his current wife have 3 big inside dogs, so he isn’t welcomed by Polka Dot.

J was happy to see his new chair in his room when he got home from work, however, instead of sitting in it, he say on the floor as he usually does. Being Mom, and understanding change is difficult, I insisted he sit in it and recline a little bit until I had supper ready. When it was bed time, again, he was sitting in the floor, and again, I made him get in the chair, got him a cover, and told him he could watch TV and sleep in his chair. That is where I left him, however, sometime after that he got in his bed. This will take some time I know. But it is there for him when he wants to sit in it or when I make him sit in it.

Wish I’d get the call for the different mask try out and then he can get the CPAP and get going on this new adventure. I suspect getting him to use the CPAP will be as difficult if nor more so, than sitting in the chair. Hopefully he will get to loving both of them in time.

Thanks to all of you in reference to our last couple of weeks. I was thinking last night that you all are my “go to” people when silly things that happen here happen. No one has shared y excitement over the mattress set like you guys have and since I posted pictures of J’s new chair and my new mattresses, you that have seen both are the first. I thought maybe daughter would come by and look, but no. She just called me to ask if it had been delivered and then was asking me about watching O and helping pay for the flooring installation. So thanks!! I really mean it when I tell you that you keep me connected who care without wanting something.

Ok. Before I start feeling sorry for myself, I need to finish this, post it, and do a couple of things before Dad and I leave for our afternoon of errands and appointments.

Take care and God Bless


Spirit Song April 12, 2016

So happy for you! My new mattress I got last year literally turned my life around. No kidding .
It's amazing what a good night's sleep will do for you.

aunty EM April 12, 2016

I agree. You guys are the best!

crystal butterfly April 12, 2016

Just think of the step as a "one step aerobic" exercise. :^)

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ April 12, 2016

LOL-this I will do.

seafarer April 13, 2016

Me, Me, Me, I want something.... I want to come back to see you!!!! Hopefully, I'll get well someday soon and I shall book that flight!!! I also want you to come visit me someday, maybe we can go to the beach while you visit!!! I'd love to share 'my' ocean with you!
I was excited for your new mattress and J's chair. I do hope he will learn to love it sooner than later. I love my recliner and my bed for that matter!!! Sleeping in an adjustable bed, for me, is the best thing ever.
hugs

middle age pearl seafarer ⋅ April 13, 2016

Mine isn't adjustable but very comfy and so far no waking up with pain. YAY!! I even slept until the alarm went off this morning. They are going to trade out for a not so deep foundation this afternoon. I am so happy that would do it today and I just called this morning!!
Yes, I have a trip to see you on my list to do in retirement. We'll make our visits happen. Just wait and see!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.