Horse Racing in Diary

  • April 9, 2016, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been trying to bite my tongue but so many people are going on about it on Facebook and the rage is rising so I need to let rip somewhere.

In the UK there’s a famous horse race called the Grand National. I don’t know why it’s so famous, or why people who don’t normally gamble or have an interest in horse racing always put a bet on it. But they do. At my workplace, they have a sweepstake. Loads of people on my Facebook friends list has had a “bit of a flutter.”

But this is a very dangerous race for horses, second only to the Cheltenham Festival, and horses die during the meeting every single year. Not just through injuries sustained during the race, but some go on to have a heart attack after the racing has finished because of the strain put on their hearts.

Sure, they’re treated like kings while they’re being trained, sure the owners and trainers probably love them very much. But that doesn’t change the fact that the races are dangerous. Fences are made higher and higher, they have fences which are lower on the landing side, fences which are met at an angle, all of which are dangerous but it happens anyway because it makes for a more thrilling race.

One of my friends said on Facebook she was thrilled she picked the winning horse and hoped all the horses are ok. When I pointed out that four have died over the course of the weekend and use of the whip is a disgrace, she told me not to start arguments and deleted it. Why say something like that if you don’t want a truthful answer? If you bury your head in the sand and pretend it isn’t happening, then it’s ok that you’re advocating animal cruelty?

Her other comment was that no horses died in the race she bet on, so that was ok. Never mind that the races that the four horses died in were part of the same meeting so it’s all part of the same thing. Don’t pretend that you’re not contributing to the deaths of these animals or the cruelty of the unnecessary whip.

It astounds me that people claim to be against animal cruelty, and yet they bet on the Grand National. In my last workplace, everyone had a go, even the vegetarians who are always posting animal cruelty posts on Facebook. Some people are the first to go mad when a puppy is kicked, but are ok with horses being whipped and falling and breaking their necks. Oh wait, it’s “traditional”, that’s ok then. Keep on killing the animals, keep on whipping them, because it’s “traditional.” Gathering on the village green on a Saturday to watch people being hanged used to be traditional, but we don’t do that anymore. Why is that? Is it because it’s cruel and inhumane? Why does this rule not apply to horses?

I didn’t want to post this on Facebook because I know it would cause an argument, so thanks for letting me vent here. I never have, or ever will, bet on horse racing.


Last updated April 09, 2016


Babe In Toyland April 09, 2016

:(
My colleagues have all been very understanding of me today, which I was happy about! I got asked several times if I was having a flutter and when I said no and explained why, I just got an "oh, I understand."
It's outraged and horrible, I can't understand why people were arguing with you about hard facts!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ April 09, 2016

Because they think if they look the other way, then it isn't happening...

Babe In Toyland April 09, 2016

Outdated I meant.

Odd Socks April 09, 2016

I agree! xx

wintergrey April 09, 2016

I don't even watch the grand national, it scares me. My dream is one day to adopt a rescued ex-racehorse. It will probably never happen (where am I ever going to keep a horse!?), but a girl can dream...

Bomb Shell wintergrey ⋅ April 09, 2016

That's a lovely dream to have, don't give up!

Waterfire April 09, 2016

Shit, and I've just posted that picture of what my sister sent me from the dog track! That's probably no better.

Bomb Shell Waterfire ⋅ April 09, 2016

I don't know about the dogs, I've heard conflicting information and I can't make my mind up which is true :o(

Camdengirl April 09, 2016

I think the difference is that the horses are bred to race - it's what they love to do. There was one horse who was rider less and he carried on jumping all the way round right out in front just for the sheer joy of it.

I used to jump judge at various horse events and you do see some awful accidents... but then you could argue the same of cars.

I think a lot has been done to make it safer - it's not as thrilling a race as it once was because their skill isn't as tested, but I'm okay with that.

Having said that i never bet on it.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ April 10, 2016

I'm not disputing that the horses enjoy running and jumping, but it's still a very dangerous race and the use of the whip is an utter disgrace and completely unnecessary. Changes need to be made. Yes car racing is dangerous, but the people involved are fully aware of this before they do it and still make that choice themselves. The horses have no idea.

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ April 10, 2016

The horses wouldn't exist if it weren't for the racing though.... It's rather like veal only existing because people drink milk or pheasants and estates only existing because people shoot them.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ April 10, 2016

I don't see how that's a valid argument or an excuse for animal cruelty. I'm not saying horse racing shouldn't exist, I'm saying changes need to be made.

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ April 10, 2016

If you change it too much the element of skill and sheer power of the horses disappears which is its appeal.... so it wouldn't be worth keeping or breeding the horses. You'd basically have the greyhound situation where they get used for 5 years then chucked out.

Babe In Toyland Camdengirl ⋅ April 10, 2016

I think that's the point. Exploiting animals to their detriment for our entertainment is abhorrant.

Deleted user April 09, 2016

Well said! I hate horse races. Disgusting.

mutedexposure April 10, 2016

We have a large horse track here. I haven't been to it. Not even for concerts they do there because I can't support the animal cruelty or the venue that supports it. There is no reason to push a horse that way. We get mad when coaches punish their kids by making them run laps until they drop but horses can be ran, whipped, and tortured all fit the sake of tradition. It is sick.

puffin April 10, 2016

I didn't even know it was the grand national. To me it seems people are cottoning on to it. A few years ago a friend wrote a post about how awful the grand national is, and i commented that I agree, I hate crufts and dog breeders too, and i got a bit of an earful for that! Everyone has different issues that get them ticked off xx

Bomb Shell puffin ⋅ April 11, 2016

Animal cruelty is the same no matter what type of animal it is. I don't know why people would get annoyed by someone saying Crufts and dog breeding is cruel, the basic facts are right there. Especially if this same person can see that the Grand National is cruel...just different animals and different forms of cruelty.

Lucretia April 12, 2016

With you all the way. I can't stand the Grand National. I don't have a problem with horse racing in general, generally it doesn't cause the unnecessary deaths of lots of horses all in one go. The GN seems to have its own set of rules, and they need to be changed. If they want to make it more challenging take the whip away!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.