Really? That's it?? in Laughing in Circles

  • Aug. 15, 2013, 8:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As you can imagine, there are many people in my life, who are armchair doctors. In fact, I've received so much unsolicited advice, I could easily write a 1000 page book. Yes - I know it's meant well, but for heaven's sake - know that I pay professionals who've studied in their fields, whom I've chosen based on their reputation.

Now last week, a friend of mine spoke about B-12 (waves to Kathy and Sandy, in case they're reading) - and the benefits thereof. Because it is my nature to check out such things, I did - and I decided to take the B-12 pills (doubled) until payday, when I could go to the health food place and get the sub-lingual, which is far more bio-available. By the way - B-12s are about as big as a cat's paw.....so be prepared with a dowel and lots of water. So now, my pill sorter is an official, bonafide percussion instrument. It sounds a lot like maracas - only louder.

Yesterday, I woke up and when I rolled over, the room didn't follow. I sat at the side of my bed for a few minutes, just knowing my vestibular was going to throw it's leg out from behind my hippocampus and trip me up the second I stood, but it never happened. Although I did have some dizziness, it wasn't constant. I'm back down to the baseline I'm accustomed to.

This morning, so far, same story! WOOT! Can't wait to get the sub-lingual.


Rick August 15, 2013

Oh yeah, everybody's full of medical advice...my mother being one of the worst; she's always trying to second guess my educated and very knowledgeable doctors/caregivers. They mean well, but like the old saying goes; the road to hell is paved with good intentions. I tune them out, and go about my business like I didn't hear anything...

I too hope the sub-lingual helps too. That room not following bit just doesn't sound like a whole lot of fun.

whowhatwhere August 15, 2013

How awesome! RYN Yep, it is I, WWW!

Pintador August 16, 2013

I get what you're saying about unsolicited advice; however, I think the vast majority of us have long since become disillusioned with the well studied & reputable professionals and are ready to try anything that has worked for another. It's all hit & miss in the end, even & especially the treatments/meds/advice handed out by the professionals.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.