Maui in Talk Story

  • April 5, 2016, 8:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…
I spent the afternoon out on the Jetty with a friend and her dog… water on both sides of us… ocean out in front… boats heading out into the ocean… other boats returning to port… lots of sea life… seals and sea lions… birds… even a couple of river otters…
When I returned home… I decided to wash the car… put some Hawaiian music on the stereo in the garage… backed the car out… and spent the next hour… well… you know…
Listening to the music… brought back so many memories of my time on the island…
Of the 12 years spent on Maui… 8 of those years I was married and of course we had all three of our daughters with us… very involved with Lahaina United Methodist Church… very involved with my youngest daughter’s school… and of course very much involved with the community…
I will never return… most of my friends have either passed on… or moved back to the mainland… and of course there is the old saying: “you can’t go home again”… meaning that things change…
Again… listening to the music was quite bittersweet… I would feel sad for a while… then happy… the sad again…
But there is an upside to this:
My car is really clean…!
Smiles/Aloha oe…


Last updated April 05, 2016


Deleted user April 05, 2016

Visited Maui once and loved it. Would kill to live there but am sure that's just a dream.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ April 05, 2016

It was that way for me at one time... but then... (smiles)

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ April 05, 2016

Awesome! You're very lucky. :)

cariad April 05, 2016

We're going to Maui at the end of May, I haven't been since 1991. First trip to the island for my husband. I'm sure the magic will capture us - I hope that you return one day, if only for a visitxx

Maui Jim cariad ⋅ April 05, 2016

Maui No Ka Oi...! (smiles)

Deleted user April 06, 2016

I vaguely remember the days when I washed my own car. Older age sucks.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ April 06, 2016

Hey... who's old... not you... not me...! (smiles)

dream seeker April 06, 2016

The spirit and love that create our memories of home are special and cruel,at the same time. You were so blessed to have that time in Maui. I hope the happy times stand out more than the not happy memories. I also hope that you are able to build those same type of happy memories at your new gorgeous home there on the coast.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ April 06, 2016

Thank you...

middle age pearl April 06, 2016

Music can take us to the highest of heights and lowest of lows in seconds and I a sure that your car is shiney clean and your heart was a bit weepy. The results of visiting your memories resulted in a much more detailed ride.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ April 06, 2016

Exactly.... your words mirror my emotions...

aunty EM April 06, 2016

Aah, Maui.......

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ April 06, 2016

No... it's Aloha Maui...! (smiles)

Deleted user April 06, 2016

Do you know Jim, a thought just occurred to me that it's probably an unusual thing for anyone to live in Hawaii (Maui) at all. It's so expensive and I am sure it's difficult to find a job. Maybe. That's why I can understand when you say many of your Maui friends have passed away or moved back to the mainland. Truly, you were so lucky to have lived in Maui. I am sure whenever you tell anyone that you did they want to learn all about it. (((Hugs)))

~Harmonie~ April 06, 2016

Music has always been there for me. As a piano player it IS how I express myself. Have always wanted to visit Maui. Maybe one day....

Maui Jim ~Harmonie~ ⋅ April 06, 2016

One Day...? For Sure...! (smiles)

crystal butterfly April 06, 2016

I dunno. Maybe if you put in some hula music you could hula and wash and have the car done in a jiffy?

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ April 06, 2016

Or not...! (smiles)

TruNorth April 07, 2016

I have visited about 10 times - love the condo we rent at Maui Kai. It seems like the perfect place. Wish I could afford to buy a condo but alas the whole effort is beyond me - price of condo, taxes, upkeep, insurance, cost of flights there and back, cost of living on the island etc......

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ April 07, 2016

We stayed the first year at Papakea up near Kaanapali... then rented a home up in Wailuku Heights before buying a home in Kihei... when I went back (after the divorce) I rented an ocean front home in Lahaina at Puamana... and yes you're right... it is a bit expensive...! (smiles)

Spilledperfume April 08, 2016

xoxo

Maui Jim Spilledperfume ⋅ April 11, 2016

Thank you... (smiles)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.