the year in review! in advent 2013

  • Dec. 27, 2013, 8:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's that time of year again folks!

1.What did you do in 2013 that you'd never done before?

Worked in a school seeing how things work on the other side. Most interesting was the nativity play. I've seen many, many school shows and always assumed that the teacher in the middle that holds cards up to the class has the song lyrics written on... I was surprised but not surprised to find that the cards actually say things like 'louder' and 'quietly' or 'sheep' and 'shepherds' depending on how the song should be sung or who should sing it.

Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

No and no. I try to be the best I can all year... I often fail miserably too but at least I try!

Did anyone close to you give birth?

Several diary friends! You all know who you are! Did anyone in real life? Not that I can think of!

Did anyone close to you die?

No one close. I certainly wasn't at any funerals! However a very good diary friend very sadly lost her dad on Christmas eve.

What countries did you visit?

Only Spain this year, we didn't even make it across the border to Wales this year!

What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?

Space in my house. It doesn't seem to matter how much clutter I de (as in de-clutter), it all accumulates again! Now I'm at the beginning of a new holiday year I think I may take time off work and sort my house out.. 

What date from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Since I'm trying to think of an answer I assume there is nothing permanently etched.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Overcoming plantar fasciitis! 9 months of stretching and golf ball massaging as well as the advice from another fellow diarist to buy some specific shoes, i beat that sucker :)

What was your biggest failure?

Keeping my weight down while not running.

Did you suffer illness or injury?

Plantar fasciitis! And now whiplash which is causing me a lot of pain.

What was the best thing you bought?

I think I will show my age when I say it was a heated clothes airer! It was £100 and worth every penny. I can get clothes dry quickly enough that I can wash clothes often enough that we don't run out of pants!

Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Talaia has really pulled her socks up at school, rarely getting red cards. Lila has finally settled into year one after a rocky start - the shock of having to work really affected her! So, both of my girls :)

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I can't think of anyone that affected me to that extent although there have been people who make me shake my head Eg. The childminder who smokes with the kids, the parents who call their children truly awful names with such regularity that those children don't react!

Where did most of your money go?

Who in the hell knows but we have really struggled! I'm hoping things will get easier now though.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Going to Spain, seeing parts of Spain I haven't seen before, relaxing on the sand at the lake beach. Just living that amazing life of holidays.

What song will always remind you of 2013?

As a teenager there were always songs which were synonymous with years Eg. Frankie in 1985 and The Only Way is Up in 1988. But now music lasts far longer so it may cover an era as opposed to a year.

Compared to this time last year, are you: i. Happier or sadder?  Probably the same.

ii. Thinner or fatter? Definitely fatter! 21lbs fatter!

iii. Richer or poorer? Poorer. I'm earning less money and also not getting the working/child tax credits.

What do you wish you'd done more of?

Not in my control? Running. In my control? Taken more control of my life.

What do you wish you'd done less of?

Eating crap! But let's face it, I'm addicted to the crap :)

How did you spend Christmas?

Just the four of us, opening pressies, eating lunch, going for a long walk, toasting marshmallows and watching Oliver.

What was the most embarrassing thing that happened to you in 2013?

I don't, as a general rule, get embarrassed...

Did you fall in love in 2013?

No, just stayed there :)

How many one-night stands?

Does it count if it's fantasy ;-)

What was your favourite TV programme?

The Big Bang Theory for fun, qi for interesting fun and Small Spaces for my fantasy lifestyle!

Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I don't really do hate. I do annoyance but hate is way too intense for me to give a shit about!

What was the best book you read?

I read several books this year. The one I enjoyed the most was a Spanish one which I read at silverstone - now what was it called..? El príncipe de la niebla I think, which means The Prince of the Mist.

What was your greatest musical discovery?

Amesmalua. A band from Galicia (north east spain) who are really fab.

What did you want and get?

The opportunity to have work experience in a school.

What did you want and not get?

An ice cream maker!!!

What was your favorite film of this year?

I did go to the cinema. I went to see Wolverine which had more plot hols than than a novel written on swiss cheese! However I got to see Hugh Jackman being naked so it was fantastic!

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 43 and it was spent at school who were panicking about the imminent arrival off Ofsted. It wasn't my best birthday ever!

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being able to get a job in a school so that my house was free from the childmind crap and my time was for my girls only.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?

The summer was light, floaty skirts and flip flops while the winter is just jeans and Hoodies as usual.

What kept you sane?

Hugs, cuddles and snuggles. Cuddles make the world go round and if I worked in a school they're the thing I would miss the most.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I guess, based on a previous answer, that would be Hugh!

What political issue stirred you the most?

Several but I don't remember them all. Politics in general annoys the crap out of me. This all-or-nothing deal with politicians, the fact that they have to follow the party line or they're considered rebels! The fact that no one could ever say "i was wrong, let's change this to make it better," politics often strikes me as being the school playground in suits!

Who did you miss?

I missed my mum especially much this year.

Who was the best new person you met?

The teacher that I work with.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

If you want something then work towards it.


Deleted user December 27, 2013

Wtf... A childminder that smokes with children around?! Jaysus.

If... When I study and work in the BCC, you must come and visit the Basque Country! It's a beautiful region of Spain, not to mention their food and people! Then I'll invite you to have Pintxos (and hopefully made by me!). How about that? :-D

I'm so going to steal this :-P

Also, I'm sorry about your pain! :-( hope it goes away soon!

Deleted user December 27, 2013

Great review! Wishing you that full time job for 2014!

The Tranquil Loon December 27, 2013

Nice wrap up!

~Twinkle~ December 28, 2013

:) I love the sound of your airer! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.