Another Monday in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • April 4, 2016, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is Monday....again. That is fine these days. Sunday evenings are better too not dreading the Monday workday. Sorry to those that still aren’t retired. So much to write about but not sure that I’ll get it all down this morning or ever for that matter. Sounds like someone may be outside on a 4wheeler but not going to bother looking as if they are, they aren’t coming up my drive so not here to see me anyway.

I do have a gift wrapped and ready to go for my newest niece. It is my brother’s first granddaughter. She is a bit early so is still in Neonatal until and I’m not sure they’ve even seen her yet. Can’t imagine not seeing a new grand baby within a couple of days of their arrival, but that is me. That was also Mom, which this baby wwas given her first name. I was so very touched that my brother’s oldest son by his 1st marriage named their baby girl after mom. Brother’s ex is and was a special woman. She should have been a paid actress and focused her skills either on screen or on stage. She would find herself a stage when it suited her and she would talk trash about brother and the entire family. Mom handled it like the lady she was and never treated the ex or that side of the family with anything other than respect. The oldest son, being the oldest, we all hoped would see through the lies and stories and sure enough when his mom’s 4th husband, took off and left her in HI when he retired, Jere sided with his stepdad. He never told why but he knew something or found out something and was possibly a witness to his mother’s antics. Whatever happened, Jere and his mom’s relationship has still been intact, but only for special occasions or events. They had kept naming this new addition a secret until she was actually born, and I read the announcement of her arrival on FB and her name, I couldn’t help but shed a few tears. My Mom tried to so very very hard to let those two boys know how much she and dad loved them, and Jere “got it”. He knew. He knows. I can’t help but wonder how irked his mom and her mother are over the naming of this new baby from “that” side of the family. Thank you Jere from the bottom of my heart and I am so very happy you knew and realize how much grandma Sally loved you boys.

So. Raylee got over her silence in a little over an hour on Saturday. We didn’t talk about what made her hurt or angry and once she started talking, then the plans for a good time began. We took J shopping and while he was looking in one store, we went next door to Cato’s and she got to shop. She left Cato’s with a new dress in turquoise and lace. It is one piece but looks two piece. Looks very good on her. Then from there we stopped a couple more places for me to pick up a couple of things, then I wanted to look in the Goodwill store to see if maybe there was a sweater or little jacket that could be worn with the dress. After looking and looking there was a perfect little white bolero made out of a sheer fabric. I asked her if she had shoes to wear with it and she said no. Low and behold there were a pair of pretty gold sandals. She left the adventure with a complete outfit and just couldn’t stop smiling. After shopping we ate out at a Mexican place that she choose, then asked if she’d like an icecream, which of course she did, so I took us through McD’s drive thru for her a Camel Sundae and vanilla cone for me and J. Then home where we played on her tablet and she loved me trying to play her “Pottery” game. It was fun and a bit addictive I might add.

Dude and Mickey are here. Mickey had to get a tooth pulled. Poor kid. She is eating or sipping some chicken and rice soup. Dude is on my house phone with Dudette. Later folks. Take care and God Bless.


Last updated April 04, 2016


Deleted user April 04, 2016

What a great shopping trip. Your granddaughter needed some "Grandma" time. :-)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 04, 2016

what a fun time the two of you had. kinda wish i had a granddaughter. take care,

seafarer April 04, 2016

Glad you and Raylee had a good time! I know she loved shopping and getting new things!!
So nice that nephew named his baby after your Mom!!
I miss you (and your family) so much!!!
love ya!

crystal butterfly April 04, 2016

Glad Raylee got over her snit and had a good visit with you. And her getting a new outfit is even more fun.

aunty EM April 05, 2016

What fun!!! Taking your granddaughter shopping for new clothes...I love doing that with my granddaughters...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.