Of Honour, Plastic Surgery, and Two Manga (Book Reviews) in Book Challenge 2016 (52 books to be read in 52 weeks)

  • April 4, 2016, 5:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, Confessions of a Park Avenue Plastic Surgeon (pages: 273) by Cap Lesesne, M.D. was something I picked up during an Easter weekend book sale, that was on at my favourite bookstore chain. Cap discusses what got him into the medical profession, and also goes into what some of his patients have had done. It was an alright read, a bit dry in parts. I was a little disappointed - it read like a long magazine article. Not really my thing.
Date Read: 25 - 27 March 2016.

Honour by Elif Shafak (345 pages, including acknowledgements and “dreaming in English” chapter) was amazing. It is about the Toprak family, who move from Turkey to England. After settling in London, Pembe and Adam have three children. But the past won’t stay hidden, and a series of events accumulates in one person dead and the family torn apart. I’ve read three of Shafak’s books now, and haven’t been disappointed yet. I could not put this book down. Highly recommended. Date read: 27 - 29 March 2016.

Yesterday I went to a comic-con and picked up some manga, which I’ll include in my reading challenge. Assassination Classroom Volume 1 by Yusei Matsui (192 pages) is about an octopus like alien who winds up teaching a bunch of troubled students in Japan. He makes one promise - he’s already seriously damaged the moon and will destroy the Earth if his students don’t kill him first. They have a year....A great set up to the series, and I plan on keeping an eye out for the next in the series. Date Read: 3 April 2016.

Blue Exorcist Volume 1 by Kazue Kato (200 pages) is about a young man being raised by an exorcist priest. One day, the two have a fateful argument which results in the priest dead and the teenager struggling to comprehend the fact that he is the son of Satan. The teenager decides to go and learn to be an exorcist. But he must keep his demonic side under wraps. An interesting premise, which didn’t wow me as much as Assassination Classroom. But it’s another series to keep an eye out for. I’ll read volume 2 before making a final decision. Date Read: 3 - 4 April 2016.

Total Books Read So Far This Year: 29/52. Pages Read: 7268


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.