Urgh in Hello.

  • April 3, 2016, 3:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We found out the other week that John’s sister has cancer. Hodgkin’s lymphoma no less. The prognosis seems to be really good, but she’s having a scan on Tuesday to determine how extensive it has spread and her chemotherapy starts on the 12th. She’s been told the therapy will leave her really weak, make everything taste funny and she’ll probably lose her hair. I can’t go and visit her as I’m still getting over the cold from hell and she can’t get ill as her immunity is going to be compromised.
Even though she’s married, we’ve made arrangements for her daughter, Anna, to come stay with us. She’s almost 15, so will take no looking after as such, but I’m not sure how vulnerable she’s going to feel. Rob is due to go back to uni this week, so we can put her up in Rob’s room whenever she wants to stay. So far, Anna is only staying while Katie has her scan, but I don’t know how poorly she’s going to be, so it might be better if Anna stays when chemo starts, giving Katie and Shaun one less thing to worry about.
I know I should probably mention it at work really. It’s probably not going to compromise my working at all, but it would be better if I mentioned it, just in case it pops up for some reason.
sigh John is really close to Katie. He appears to be fine and very positive about it all, which is reassuring. He’s mentioned that he might be required to undergo tests to be a marrow donor. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it, not being a blood relative. I’m trying to avoid Google if I can. I don’t really know what I can do to help. I’m trying to find some beautiful wool so I can make her some soft caps.

That’s something, I guess.


Canadian Lass April 03, 2016

bet she will love the thought-fullness behind the caps :)

Seacláid April 03, 2016

You don't need to be a blood relative to be a match. I'm sorry to hear this, I hope things stay positive even through all the chemo.

Deleted user April 04, 2016

It's good of you to
Take care of their daughter and make
Some caps. I'm sure they are really appreciative and that they feel you are doing enough xx

Bomb Shell April 04, 2016

Blood relatives are more likely to be a match, especially a sibling, but you can also go for testing as even complete strangers can be a match as well. The more people who go, the more chance there is of finding one!

Mel April 04, 2016

Really sorry to hear :( I think the hats is a great idea! I know from experience how hard it is to get nice looking scarfs and hats for someone who is feeling terrible, scared and alone xx

Lucretia April 04, 2016

Oh my, I can't imagine! I'm so sorry this is happening but you're doing everything you can and that counts for a lot.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.