I'm A Freaking Movie of the Week! in Friends With the Benedicts

Revised: 04/02/2016 8:11 a.m.

  • April 2, 2016, 7:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wish you could make this shit up. Well, you can, technically lol, but I am not. Last, oh I dunno when it was exactly, sometime last week… I found a lump in my right boob. I went to the gyno yesterday, but all they could tell me was that my “boobs are really lumpy in general”, so they didn’t know. So, I have an appt. on the 6th of this month at Ann Baroco Center, (where my Mom went when she was diagnosed) to have a mammogram and ultrasound done. Yay! Today, me and my Mom battled horrible rain and thunderstorms to drive waaay out past Cantonment (bout 45 min. away in good weather) so I could go see the ONE dentist that takes Medicaid in this godforsaken area. We made the weather our bitch, tho, and arrived ten minutes early. But, since they wanted me there 30 minutes early… yea. LOL. They ended up telling me, after I waited about an hour to be seen, (gotta love Health Depts.) that I needed to have ALL six of my remaining teeth on the bottom pulled. I said mmkay but how will I chew then? She said you will have to get dentures. And have you ever had any? Cue the most uncomfortable talk I have ever had with a health professional in my life about MS. I explained that yes, I in fact had gotten two pair at one time, and lost them both because of the brain damage caused by MS. She looked at me like I was an alien and said what? You have brain damage? I explained that, yes and no, it is more like just a faulty brain that causes memory problems, losing things, etc. I have only been to offices in the last oh I dunno, 3 years, with people in them who all understand not only what MS is but what it can do to you. Note to self: Dentists and their nurses do not understand your poorly working brain and how it got that way. I don’t even know at this point if she knows what MS stands for! Anyway, so yea, it was just a rotten trip, and turns out it was all for nothing, because after it was all over, I found out that a denture place IN our local area accepts my insurance and they can pull my teeth and give me a denture at the same time. No need to wonder how I will chew. I only went there over ONE tooth. But turns out every single one of my whopping 6 teeth have the root exposed. The dentist was like, you in pain ma’am? I was like uhhh yessir! LOL. So… that was interesting, and at least I didn’t have to pay for anything but the gas in my Mom’s truck, which needed to happen anyway, she takes me so many places.

So, let’s recap. On things we cannot make up. And this kills my Mom, because she wants to go on Ellen sooo badly. She has written her several times. I told her at this point, Ellen would probably throw your letter out, thinking it was a joke, either that or she would definitely need proof! LOL. So now, not only do I have MS, Diabetes, (yes I take responsibility for that one fully! and I am doing sooo well still! Yay) and need to have a hysterectomy in May, but now I have found a lump of unknown origin and I need to be made completely toothless. Yep, I think that about covers it. LOL! Oh, I’m not listing these for sympathy or shock value, I just think it’s quite comical! If it weren’t myself going thru this, I would never believe all these things could happen to a person at once! See, just goes to show ya, sometimes you can believe something that sounds really out there! lol. No, but seriously, I am also totally not trying to make light of the possibility of cancer either. I mean, my Mom just got done with all her treatments for breast cancer. Yea, did I tell yall that yet? I think so, but anyway. Me and my Mom of course have been chatting away about it, she is happy to have someone to share her “wisdom” with lol. Well, not happy, but, ya know what I mean. We’ve been saying, “Well, if it comes back like, ya know, and I’m not saying I think it will! But if it DOES, then… Blah blah” and just talking like that LOL. I told her to just drop the lead in and just talk openly about it. There is no need to put a freaking disclaimer on a sentence every time you say it. lol. She remembers the girls at the Ann Baroco center where I will be going. They don’t remember her, but they are super nice and told me on the phone they will take good care of me. :) One’s name is Cynda, so not too hard to remember. You get the results right away, so I will be a nervous wreck that day and I am sure so will she. When she went, she had no idea about that part, and was blindsided. I’ll never forget her calling me from the parking lot to tell me it was cancer. I knew my life (and hers too of course lol) was about to change at least for a good little while. That’s just one of the many things I will be able to learn from her experience, if, ya know…

Yea, how about some happy happy? <3 Babeeeees!! They are like, uhh.... 5 weeks and a couple days old and omg sooo big! Last nite I made them a little playroom area in the closet of their little “suite”. Yes, you read that right, they have a whole room with a bathroom to themselves! Here’s a pic of the closet/play area:

alt text

And here are the little boogers in it:

alt text

Well, I have just about written a book, so I should go. That should hold yall, well, till the 6th I ‘spose. Love yall. Byeee

Steph <3

(I meant to throw in exactly why I only have 6 teeth left at only 34 years old. Just in case anyone was wondering. I know I would be. No, I did not do meth! Haha. All of my top ones were pulled by the time I was 27, and a lot of the bottom ones too. My Mom had the same thing happen, and at the exact same age! I know, weird. But I think my reason is a bit different from hers. In my case, I suffer from extreme chronic dry mouth. I have to have something to drink at ALL times or else I get all panicky and really feel like cotton is in my mouth. I think that is also one of the reasons I have never much liked smoking weed, despite the good effects it could have on my MS. My Mom also did everything she could to try and stop it, but hers got worse with each pregnancy as well. She had my bro at 29, and now at 54, she has only 1 solitary tooth that does actually need to be pulled on the bottom. She said she would actually go with me when I go to the place. So yea, I just wanted to save yall the curiosity. Kbai!


Last updated April 02, 2016


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.