We Live in a Beautiful World in Wanderings

  • March 30, 2016, 5:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This song was in my head while I hiked along. You can listen to it while you read my entry:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

Today I had to drive over a mountain pass and since the weather forecast was favorable (sunny and 50), I took my snowshoes with me, hoping to find time for a walk in the snow.
The elevation was 6100-7000 feet and I knew the snow would be deep. You can see by this first picture how deep it is. Both my ski poles are in this photo. One is just in deep enough to stand, and the other one is stuck in all the way until only the handle is visible. My poles are about 5-feet long. However, the pole was still not touching solid ground. I stuck it another foot and it still was not touching the ground, but I was afraid if I stuck it in any deeper, I would lose it. Suffice it to say, the snow was 7+feet deep.
deep Snow photo deep snow_zpsdzsrskem.jpg

But despite being deep, it was very firm and made for easy walking. I could hike anywhere I desired. I saw a hilltop that looked like it had a view, so I hiked to the top and found a stump to sit on while I rested. This was the view I had: snow-capped mountains in every direction as far as my eyes could see.
snowshoe view photo snowshoe view_zps1qmaew9k.jpg

I then saw a neat rock formation rising out of the snow. I hiked across a ridge to reach it. I thought the photo I took from there was very artistic. What do you think?
rocky view photo photo_zpszhd7xwy7.jpg

It has been a banner year for snow in my state and love very single flake.


thesunnyabyss March 30, 2016

you have such an interesting eye, thanks for sharing your hike,

I used to be so jealous of your walks, but now I get to do mountain hikes every so often, going to the hot springs in May, can't wait!!!

Have a great day!!!

Wind Swept thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 31, 2016

Good for you... I love hot springs...

ManitouWolf March 30, 2016

such breath-taking views!
but i'm a homegrown Texan....and have little desire to actually experience snow to that level. ;) so instead, i love looking at it through the experiences, descriptions, and photographs of others far braver than I! :D

Wind Swept ManitouWolf ⋅ March 31, 2016

Actually, if you ever want to see wolves in the wold, you'll need to come to snow country.

ManitouWolf Wind Swept ⋅ March 31, 2016

This is very true. Wolves and polar bears are the only things that could entice me into snow country. ;)

ermentrude March 31, 2016

Absolutely beautiful - also a great song that I don't think I've heard before. That's some amazingly deep snow!

Wind Swept ermentrude ⋅ March 31, 2016

The song is from Coldplay's first album "Parachutes" which is the only album of theirs I like.

NorthernSeeker April 03, 2016

I've always liked that song and didn't know it was Coldplay. Isn't it wonderful to be outside? We are having such an early spring...everyone is looking at one another and expecting a blizzard at any time but smiling for now. That is an artistic photo. The snow is so stark white compared to the rocks and trees. I've found that my zoom is more powerful when I take shots of animals in the snow...I'm thinking it's because the digital camera compares all the other colours it senses to white. Nice photos....thanks for sharing. How is the weightlifting going?

Wind Swept NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 05, 2016

these photos were all taken with my phone....
I've decided to cut back on my weight lifting... hoping I can lose some body mass which will help my hiking this summer...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.