Update on "The Plan" in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • March 29, 2016, 12:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I made a LOT of progress yesterday and could say I’m done in there but I’m not. I will most likely re-arrange things again once I start putting other small appliances on the shelves. Speaking of shelves. The shelves I purchased said on the box “no tools required”. That part was correct. However, I either needed super power to open the box and then more height to dump the stuff out of the box. I finally got the box open using a long flat headed screwdriver, but then couldn’t get the inside stuff to slide out. I ended up getting a box cutter to split the stupid box to get everything out of the box to begin the assembly. I was determined to actually read and follow the directions so took a minute to begin the inventory of what should be in the box. Check. As I continued reading, then it tells me, assembly would be safe and quicker with TWO people. Are you kidding me? Why isn’t that little detail on the OUTSIDE of the box? With great determination a bit of attitude, I finally got the thing assembled. I was a bit worried at first as it was pretty shakey, but with each additional shelf that would be slide down the 4 poles, the sturdier it became. I’ve got to get used to having that tall shelf there, but since it is too big too switch with the heavy plastic one, it will just have to be perfect. And it really is perfect.

By the time I threw away all the saved coffee cans, milk jugs, and God knows what all, I was again disgusted with myself and vow to stop the madness. I will admit that I do SOOO much better when #1 I’m sick of it and #2 have a plan and #3 realize there is no possible way I could ever use everything I save for use later. I do have a tote left in that area that has some things that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them. I also managed to put several items in the Tahoe to donate to place in town. I am VERY proud of myself for getting the stuff (included a kitchen chair that needs a support thing between two of the legs) loaded before I ran completely out of energy. But actually the lack of energy didn’t slow me down a lot, but heaving around on the shelving in the box, did a number on my back. Matter of fact, my back hurt all morning and I finally took something for it. Much better now, although there is still a nagging tightness. I’m such a Wuss. Hopefully I’ll get these muscles built up and I won’t hurt so bad doing something physically demanding. Well at least for me.

So today I went to the back to see what else and there really wasn’t much so I started on my kitchen junk drawer. Well one of them. Also my utility room junk drawer (well one of them too). I swear I’m going to get this purging and organizing done if it kills me. And it just might make me wish I was dead. lol

So my break is over and since I made a clothes line this morning using my front porch posts, I need to check the rugs I hung on them earlier.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated March 29, 2016


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm March 29, 2016

i set up 5 sets of plastic shelves a couple years ago for my food storage in case of the zombie apocalypse! it was hard but, i got it done. no tools required. but, it would have been so much easier with 2 people. decluttering is mostly a matter of deciding to get it done. it feels so much better when it's done than when you are doing it. take care,

Deleted user March 30, 2016

Wow girl-look at you go! Box cutters are a really good tool! : )
I hope you'll be feeling a-okay today!

aunty EM March 30, 2016

You go, girl!!

crystal butterfly March 30, 2016

I find things that I keep thinking I will reuse. Then I finally toss them and soon I have the same number collected again. I am a horrible packrat.

middle age pearl March 31, 2016

And neither call was from my old boss. lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.